Yesterday I took Reagan shopping for her prom dress.  Her friend BDV and boyfriend, E., came along.  He’s been over to our house a few times since they have been dating and he’s a nice boy, but quiet.  I was a bit worried that he might be Reagan’s Ann.

Luckily he is not.

He meets my most important criteria:  he has a good sense of humor; he isn’t a picky eater and he was willing to hold Reagan’s purse for three hours while she tried on prom dresses.

He even carried it BETWEEN stores:

And, no, his hand is NOT on her butt.  That’s just a bad camera angle, LOL.

The prom dress shopping went well, other than getting lost,  NOT finding a suitable dress (the dress Reagan liked was $457!) AND shattering the dreams of BDV.

You see, BDV has a very tumultuous relationship with her boyfriend M.  I don’t think she even likes him very much;  she simultaneously feels sorry for him and doesn’t realize that she deserves better than a boyfriend of convenience.   She was looking at a fairly expensive dress at a bridal boutique and was pondering buying it.   I stepped in with some unwanted motherly advice:

“BDV, not to be negative but you and M. have broken up several times over the last few months and prom is still two months away.  You might not want to spend so much money on a dress you cannot not return, just in case you two split up.”

“Voice of reason?”

or

“Major bummer?”

BDV seemed a bit morose the rest of the day.   Reagan, ever tactful said “Mom, I notice you AREN’T giving Ethan and me that lecture!”    Fortunately, (or unfortunately?) the two of them are two cute peas in a pod.

(Sorry about the fuzzy pictures.  I had to dig my camera out of my purse and take the pictures while they we were all walking without them realizing it!)

6 Responses to “”

  1. kjay Says:

    Is that Northwoods Mall?

    • jenjw4 Says:

      K, no, it’s one of the the malls in Bloomington. We did go to Bergner’s, but she didn’t like any of the dresses. I thought there were some really cute ones.

  2. kjay Says:

    Did you try Bergner’s also? I got one of my prom dresses there but that was because I got a discount.

  3. HollowSquirrel Says:

    Someone had to tell BDV. I’m glad you stepped up.

  4. Mary Says:

    Nice to read your blog again, even though I am 3 months late. I’m sure you have missed my constructive criticism as much as I have missed reading your blog. “pees in a pod”

Leave a comment