TWD: Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart

I love tarts.  My first Dorie recipe after joining the group was the French Pear Tart, which I adored and have made three or four times since then.   (Now that I think about it, I really want to make it AGAIN, SOON.)     Carla of Chocolate Moosey chose this tart recipe.

I decided I would vary this recipe slightly because I don’t like peanuts.   I don’t hate them, I just prefer other nuts.  (huhuh, I said “nuts”)   I decided to use pecans (hazelnuts were too expensive) and toasted them in my toaster oven.   Burnt the first batch.  Burnt the second batch.   Darn.   I decided to change my method and toasted them in the skillet I would later use to make the caramel.   I also sprinkled the pecans with a little sea salt.

I used part of the pecans in the tart crust, which I made Saturday night while my daughter was at her homecoming dance.    Reagan and Ryan

Gratuitous homecoming picture.

Sunday I made the caramel and the ganache.   The caramel was easy, melted sugar, a bit of corn syrup, butter and heavy cream.   The ganache was even easier, just chopped chocolate, heavy cream and butter.  Assembly was also a breeze.   I made the tart to take to my book club and it was refrigerated longer than the thirty minute max specified in the recipe, yet it was still delicious and not soggy.   I also sent the leftovers to work with my husband the next day and they were still fine.

I must say I preferred this tart served with whipped cream.  It really speaks to the richness of the ganache that whipped heavy cream actually seems to lighten it up!  I could easily see making this for dessert after a holiday meal.   Or for a pms-y random Tuesday night when I’m craving CHOCOLATE and the little four aisle grocery store down the block doesn’t carry “New York Super Fudge Chunk.”    

Don’t forget, the recipe can be found at Chocolate Moosey, or in the book, “Baking From My Home to Yours” by Dorie Greenspan.      

CCT4 (3)  

15 Responses to “TWD: Chocolate-Crunched Caramel Tart”

  1. Spike Says:

    I like the pecan sub. I’m kind of obsessed with honey roasted peanuts from the gas station so I stuck with those. Your daughter looks gorgeous. love those I’m standing as close as possible to my date without actually touching in front of parents pose.

    • jenjw4 Says:

      Spike, thanks. I wish I liked peanuts, because they are so inexpensive and I love the idea of something being “honey roasted.”

  2. chocolatechic Says:

    I used honey roasted nuts.

    Fabulous.

  3. juju73 Says:

    What a cute picture! Your daughter is beautiful!

    Your tart sounds really good!

  4. tia Says:

    ^ i agree!

    • jenjw4 Says:

      Tia,
      Thanks. I can’t believe how well she did her make-up. I think my fourteen year-old has mastered the “smokey” eye, something her mother is inept at!
      Jennifer

  5. Teanna Says:

    Your daughter is gorgeous! Love her dress! And so is your tart! Love that tart! The pecans sound great!

    • jenjw4 Says:

      Teanna,
      I really liked her dress, too. Too bad it will be dry cleaned then hung in her closet to never be worn again!
      Jennifer

  6. Wendy Says:

    Oh, I love the homecoming picture. How cute! I miss those days…

  7. Megan Says:

    Oh she is just adorable! And 14? Wow – I need to come to you for advice because my 12 year old just informed me last night that I am too overprotective and need to “let go”. I had two words for her – “Lindsay Lohan”.

    Anyways, the tart looks good but it wasn’t so well received in my house!

  8. Mary Says:

    I am surprised there WERE leftovers after bookclub. I can’t wait to make this once I get my little problem resolved.

  9. Katrina Says:

    Best, easy way I have found to do a quick toast on nuts, is spread on a plate and a minute or so in the microwave. Maybe not TASTE quite as toasty, but does the trick and I never burn them that way. That or put the nuts in the oven and only while it’s preheating, then when it beeps that it’s preheated, take them out! (Can you tell I’ve burned a nut or two before! HEHE) Pecans sound great in this.
    I was out of town and am again, but really want to make this one up in time for next TWD. We’ll see! But dang, it looks good!
    Your daughter is so cute!

  10. Susan Says:

    I love the flavor of toasted nuts, but they are so easy to have burn instead of toast. I usually do mine in a skillet on the stove so I can watch them easier. Your tart looks delicious though. 🙂

  11. Sarah Says:

    I thought this tart was fantastic. One of my favorite desserts ever. We took a similar approach – I used pecans, too and toasted them with maple syrup, butter and salt. Looks great, I’m glad you enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

