TWD #30: Vanilla Ice Cream

My fifteen year old boy is simultaneously dreading the return to school while counting down the days until he can get his driver’s license. (In November.)

My fourteen year old girl bemoans her boredom and doesn’t appreciate my suggestions.  “If you don’t have anything to do, you can scrub the kitchen floor” is my helpful version of “If you’re going to cry, I’ll give you something to cry about.”

My thirteen year old nephew, a newcomer to the household, will say, on the phone, “Hold on,”  <rustle, rustle,> “Did you hear that? I just farted in the phone!”  He also “caught” one in an empty jar.  (BTW, never say “yes” to “smell this,” even especially if it’s an innocuous looking empty pickle jar.)  Yesterday he taught the dog to sit (with microwave popcorn as the bribe.)   And made “bombs” out of flour and Kleenexes.  Which I must say smelled worse (when lit) than the “fart in a jar.”

He also ate the rest of my tub of mint chocolate chip ice cream.  Before I managed to get a photo!

Nevertheless, I’m thankful for his non-picky-eating ways.  Neither Tay nor Rea would even taste the mint chocolate chip ice cream.    To them, mint is for toothpaste, and toothpaste only.  They don’t delight in York Peppermint Patties, or my favorite, Andes Mints. 

Either of which would have been a great addition to this ice cream.   I followed the “playing around” directions for this variation of Dorie’s Vanilla Ice Cream.   The next day I made the actual vanilla ice cream recipe as written, but, at the last moment, decided to make it butter pecan.   I lined a cookie sheet with foil, dropped on 2-3 tablespoons of butter and put it in the oven to melt.  I added 1 1/2 cups of chopped pecans to the melted butter, stirring to coat, sprinkled them with sea salt and popped them back in the oven for about 10-12 minutes.   Once cool I added the nuts to the churned ice cream.  

Only, apparently the nuts weren’t as cool as I had thought, because the ice cream started to melt.   I put it in the freezer, and, while I anxiously waited for the butter pecan milk shake to turn into scoop-able ice cream, I decided to make a pecan topping.   I looked in my favorite ice cream cookbook, “The Perfect Scoop,” for inspiration and made a variation of one of the sauces.  (Only I can’t for the life of me remember what it’s called!).    I toasted pecans in the toaster oven while melting butter mixed with sugar and corn syrup on the stove top.   Once the butter mixture turned a nutty brown color I removed it from the heat, added water, put it back on the heat, whisking to make the mixture smooth, then I added heavy cream, 1 tbs of cognac and 2 tsp of vanilla.    When the pecans were done toasting I dumped them in.   

It turned into a delicious buttery-caramel-y-super-pecan-y type sauce which was great on the butter pecan ice cream.

Which, again, I did not get a picture of, as I ATE IT ALL.   YES, one small bowl at a time over the course of a couple of days.  I ATE IT ALL.  It was that good.   If you like ice cream, *you really should make this;  the recipe is at Lynn’s blog,  CafeLynnlu,  or buy the book.  (And if you are an ice cream lover, you really must check out “The Perfect Scoop,” too.)

*And, yes, to some making ice cream might sound a bit crazy.  But it’s really not difficult and sooooo, soooo good.

11 Responses to “TWD #30: Vanilla Ice Cream”

  1. Beth Says:

    I’m dying that your kids say mint is for toothpaste only! That is too funny!

    And after reading this, I know now that I just have to buy The Perfect Scoop! Its been on my wish list for a looong time, I just need to go for it!

  2. idonotknowme Says:

    Mint chocolate chip is my favorite ice cream flavor.

  3. cstewarts Says:

    Haha I love that it was eaten before picture was taken, it have been great!

  4. Wendy Says:

    Ha! Both sound delicious though.

  5. Megan Says:

    Sounds like your house has the mid-summer blues too. My 12 y.o. doesn’t appreciate my solutions to her boredom either – go figure.

    Anyways, I love your variation of “plain vanilla” – butter,rum,and pecans sounds just lovely.

  6. Anon E. Mouse Says:

    found a cure for the complaints and shennanigans of the teenagers. It is called “detaseling corn” and they go to bed at night without complaint.

  7. lpetelle Says:

    ““If you don’t have anything to do, you can scrub the kitchen floor” is my helpful version of “If you’re going to cry, I’ll give you something to cry about.””

    Mom? Is that you?

    Mine used to send us to clean bathrooms if we ever let the words “I’m bored” escape our lips.

  8. Mary Says:

    No picture? Again? Maybe you are making these stories up? Just kidding. I just like to see your pictures. I like mint chocolate too, especially homemade (or Breyers) cause I don’t like the alien green color.

  9. Katrina Says:

    Sounds like a “fun” household”. Bummer, no pictures. The butter pecan sounds AWESOME!

  10. Michele Says:

    I love the idea of the butter pecan! Yum!

  11. Chocolate dessert @ Fisherman’s Cove, StarHill Gallery, KL Says:

    […] TWD #30: Vanilla Ice Cream « Keep Passing the Open Windows […]

Leave a Reply

