TWD #28: Brioche Plum Tart

DSC03469

This delectable recipe was chosen by Denise.  You can find her write-up and the recipe at  Chez Us.  

I ran into a few problems implementing this week’s recipe:

1.   The plums at Cub Foods were pretty darn expensive.  And I’m cheap.  (I went with nectarines.) 

2.   Plum jam must not be popular in my area.  I once spied it at Big Lots, so I stopped there, no luck.  (But they did have peach jam, which seemed to go well with nectarines.  They also had several different jars of jam labeled “Fruits of the Forest;”  the ingredients were in German and made me picture German men and women, dressed Bavarian-style, singing folk songs while picking fruit off of prickly bushes.   Despite the bucolic setting, I’m somehow certain they’ll come to a classic Grimm’s ending, possibly involving a prick of a poisonous thorn, a buxom maiden disguised as an old lady, a wolf, several bags of gold, and a lecherous frog.)       

3.   I didn’t realize that I was out of aluminum foil until I needed to put it on the tart to prevent overbrowning.   (Luckily we live down the street from a small grocery store.  I grabbed my credit card and literally ran there, arriving sweaty and out of breath, I grabbed a roll of foil and headed to the check out lane.  No one in line.  Hurray!   The cashier rang up the foil, I babbled on about my brioche-getting-too-brown!   And the credit card machine was down.  

My purse was at home.   No cash in my running shorts.

Ugh.

The owner told the clerk, “Write out an ROA.”  

I had no idea that any stores still did that, even small town grocery stores.   It was literally a receipt with my name and $3.18 written on it, stowed in the bottom of the register.)

I ran back home.  The tart had ten minutes left and was pretty brown already.   I covered it with a piece of foil, let it finish baking, took a shower, threw on some clothes, took a photo and headed to work with the tart on a cooling rack.

Now I’m eating it for breakfast and it’s good.   The bottom part is a little, um, bready?   It came out slightly thick and I think it’s a tad overdone.   Not for lack of aluminum foil retrieval efforts, though!

Next time I would use a larger pan (I used a 9″ tart pan) and more fruit (I only used one nectarine, despite purchasing four.  I really should have made the slices bigger).   Despite the obvious danger from trolls,  wicked witches, and stepmothers, I might actually attempt to make this using “Fruits of the Forest.” 

If, that is, I am able to figure out what they are!

10 Responses to “TWD #28: Brioche Plum Tart”

  1. Wendy Says:

    I’m glad you liked it. It looks wonderful.

  2. Amy Says:

    You really went the extra mile (literally) on this one. It’s nice to know stores still give a little credit when necessary. Hey, this was an emergency! The tart looks great.

  3. Michele Says:

    Your tart is so pretty!

  4. Mary Says:

    It looks great Jennifer. I can’t believe how puffy it is. Maybe you should take some to the grocery when you go pay them back. Or when you make it again with “fruits of the forest”, although, like you said, I’m not sure what fruits grow in forests. And didn’t you take German in high school?

  5. Kyooty Says:

    yummy!!!!

  6. Steph Says:

    Haha.. you’re so funny!

    I used nectarines and peach jam too! I didn’t have to tent my though because my oven is so messed up. This was one of the few times my dessert actually browned on top.

  7. Ms. PH Says:

    I saw “Fruits of the Forest” jam as well while shopping and no plum jam. “Fruits of the Forest” sounds to me like one of those nice names for something nasty – like Rocky Mountain Oysters. Like “Fruits of the Forest” are actually deer droppings and rabbit droppings, etc.

  8. sara Says:

    Yeah. the fruit to bread ratio looks a little off, but really, if the bread is buttery bricohe, is that really a bad thing? I say no.

  9. Spike Says:

    Always good to get a run in while making desserts, even if it is just to the grocery store!

  10. Katrina Says:

    At least you made this week’s recipe! I copped out. But lots of great reviews and photos of this recipe have me really wanting to make it. You rock, running like that! 😉

Leave a Reply

