SMS #4: Sour Cherry Pie with Pistachio Crumble

Today’s Sweet Melissa Sunday recipe is for pie.  My first pie!  It was chosen by Michelle of Flour Child and you can find the recipe on her site. 

Thursday night I put the pie crust ingredients in the freezer, including the flour.  I followed the directions for the double pie crust, as I really wanted to make two pies (to use up most of a five pound bag of cherries that I purchased).    

Friday morning I woke up early and decided to make the pie crust BEFORE going to work.   While making a Swedish Visiting Cake for my neighbor and dealing with two children who are not morning people. 

Oh, and I had a backache.

Excuses, excuses!

Anyway, I decided to assemble the pie dough in the food processor, ala Dorie’s tart dough.  I whirred the flour with the salt, a 1/4 tsp of cinnamon and a bit of lemon zest, then added the chunks of cold butter, followed by the frozen shortening and the icy water.   Unfortunately, I over-processed and ended up with a sandy texture rather than pea-sized bits.  Darn!

I divided the crust into two disks and refrigerated them.  Saturday I attempted to roll them out, but, alas, they fell apart.   I decided to start over, using Dorie’s crust recipe because hers has food processor directions and I didn’t want to mess up Melissa’s recipe again.  (I’m sure her recipe is fine, but I don’t own a pasty blender and didn’t want to fail at converting it to a food processor dough again.) 

Luckily my second set of dough worked out well and today I rolled the two disks out and assembled the cherry pies.   I baked them for 1 hour and 10 minutes and the crumble topping had turned  a light golden color, so I took the pies out of the oven and let them cool for about 45 minutes.   No longer able to resist the delicious looking pies, I cut into one.  

Cherry-colored liquid the viscosity of water gushed out of the cut!

Oh, crap.

With not much to lose, I decided to put the pies back in the oven.  I re-pre-heated it to 350 degrees and popped them back in for another 20 minutes, totally unsure of the outcome.

Luckily, the pies came out perfect.  I’ll be taking them with me to a Memorial Day party in a couple of hours. 

BTW, is it “kosher”  to say “Happy Memorial Day?”  Or is that a little like saying “Have fun at the funeral?”

I hope everyone is enjoying the holiday weekend and I’ll try to get a picture posted soon.  (The hubby is off car-washing and I’m unsure where he stashed the camera.)

8 Responses to “SMS #4: Sour Cherry Pie with Pistachio Crumble”

  1. Megan Says:

    Can’t wait to see the actual pie – did you reassemble the cut one? That’s something I would do!

  2. Melissa Says:

    I had trouble with my crust too. I think next time I’ll forget the pastry blender and just use the food processor!

  3. fit chick Says:

    Great idea to put it back into the oven. Can’t wait to see how your pies looked. Nice job on your first pie!

  4. Margot Says:

    I’m glad you had a successful experience with pie dough. I made a half recipe and it took over the full hour and ten minutes to bake, which surprised me. I’m sure they were enjoyed at the party!

  5. Mary Says:

    Jennifer, I can attest that your pie was very delicious! I’m glad it finally turned out well after all that work.

  6. Wendy Says:

    I’m the pies were a hit!

  7. Tracey Says:

    Congrats on making your first pie!! I’m glad they were successful!

  8. Elyse Says:

    Sounds like a hectic time in the kitchen! But, hey pie success, right?! I hope your back has gotten to feeling better. Sorry I’ve been away for the past week; I had a good friend in town and wasn’t able to do much on the computer. I’m back now, though 🙂

Leave a Reply

