TWD #19: The Tartest Lemon Tart

If it weren’t for “Tuesdays with Dorie,” I surely would not have made Babette’s of Babette’s Feast pick, the Tartest Lemon Tart.   Which would have been a shame, as this tart is EXCELLENT.

It’s also rad.  And kickass.

                   It even glows: DSC02216

 

 

 

 

 

   And glistens:tart                                                                                                 

And has a pointy finger, an apposable thumb, and several other phalanges.

tart 3

Creepy picture, huh?

The recipe is unusual, at least to me, in that it uses the whole lemon (and a 1/2.)   Yes, every bitexcept the kitchen sink seeds.  I was a little nervous about including all the peel and the pith and considering altering the recipe.  However, the reason I joined TWD was to push myself, to make something new each week, ESPECIALLY recipes I might not normally pick, and to gain new baking skills, so I followed the recipe as written.

Besides, what’s the worst that could happen? 

If it tasted awful, it would be easier to stick to my healthy eating goals.  If it tasted great, well, then I would have learned a new technique.  (And maybe gained a pound or two)

Thankfully, we loved it.  Even my picky son ate two slices.  Definitely a winning recipe.  The texture of this tart was wonderful, kind of “pulpy,” like OJ,  in a good way.  Plus the lemon and sugar balance was just right.   It wasn’t so tart that a sweet lover like myself wouldn’t enjoy it (especially with sweetened whipped cream on top.)

This is easily one of my favorite Dorie recipes so far; so please, please, please make it!  The recipe can be found in “Baking From My Home to Yours,” or on Babette’s blog.

20 Responses to “TWD #19: The Tartest Lemon Tart”

  1. Teanna Says:

    This tart is so good it can GROW APPENDAGES! Amazing!!! Hahaha it is fantastic and I am so glad you loved it!

  2. Sara Says:

    Oh, it was probably so good with the whipped cream! I stuck to plain old powdered sugar.

  3. Spike Says:

    totally creepy picture. but now I’m kind of sad I missed this one.

    • Jennifer Says:

      Oh, you should definitely try it. I really enjoyed it and am not a huge lemon person. I used pistachios in the crust and they were really good. I also used all the pith/peel in my recipe and it wasn’t bitter.

  4. Kyooty Says:

    that made me hungry, even with the fingers!

  5. Themis Says:

    Hey, you really should make that for the housewarming party! That way we can all taste it without the mess. 🙂

    • Jennifer Says:

      Themis,
      That’s a great idea. But it really didn’t make that much of a mess! The filling was made in the blender and the crust was made in the food processor, so as long as you have a dishwasher, it’s easy peasy.
      Jennifer

  6. Cristine Says:

    How exciting that you found a new favorite! I love the picture with the hand! 🙂

  7. Amy Says:

    This tart is lovely, and it really does glow and glisten. It’s such a sunny little treat.

  8. pamela Says:

    Mine is ready and waiting to be eaten tonight. I can not wait!! Great job.

  9. pinkstripes Says:

    I’m glad you liked it! It looks wonderful.

  10. Katrina Says:

    This WAS a good one. Loved it, too. Love all your photos!

  11. Amber Marie Says:

    Quite a creepy picture! I wonder how this would be made with oranges at Halloween? 🙂 Glad you and the fam enjoyed!

  12. dorie Says:

    Creepy picture, but good-looking tart:)

    I love that you’re baking with the group so that you’ll try new things.

    • Jennifer Says:

      Dorie,
      Wow! A comment from Dorie! I’m so thrilled.

      I do love to try new things, but sometimes I think I get in a rut and make the recipes that are immediately appealing, rather than seeking out ones with different techniques and/or flavors. Participating every week has been a joy. I probably never would have made the Floating Islands (which I liked) or this recipe on my own, which would have been a shame.
      Jennifer

  13. Amy Ruth Says:

    So you surprised yourself. So glad you loved it. Dangerously close to make another just cuz everyone elses looks sooo good.
    AmyRuth

  14. teaandscones Says:

    Yours looks delicious – phalanges and all….

    Seriously, it was a good loaf and great basic for other fruits. I added extra ginger to mine.

Leave a Reply

