If you don’t want to know the answer, then don’t ask the question.

My son often (jokingly, of course) refers to me as his “2nd favorite” (parent.)

Lovely, since he only has two.

I asked him why his dad is his favorite and he said, “because he’s a dude.”   The obvious question arose, “Why are ‘dudes’ better?”  

“They’re just easier.”  

My mature response?  “So maybe you should MARRY a dude!”

Yesterday Taylor and I made plans to drive and to go to his favorite Mexican restaurant, Vallerta’s.  He was thrilled and said “I love you….  

2nd favorite.”

I was all,  “Whoa, which parent is taking you to Vallarta’s?  Let’s start over!”  

“Tay, I love you.”   “I love you, too, favorite.”

Good job!

Glancing at the TV and totally pressing my luck, I asked, “Now, who’s prettier, me or Lorelei?”  (Gilmore, played by the lovely Lauren Graham)lorelei-gilmore1

Without a thought he responded, “Lorelei.”

“Um.. who is it you wanted to take you to Vallarta’s?” 

“Lorelei!”

2 Responses to “If you don’t want to know the answer, then don’t ask the question.”

  1. Mary Says:

    So, did Lorelei take him? Or did you endanger your life and use your valuable time to take him to his favorite mexican restaurant?

  2. HollowSquirrel Says:

    Yeah, my dad always tells me I’m his favorite daughter (he only has one), and I tell him he’s my favorite person on the whole couch (unless there are other people on it). Awesome that thing called love.

Leave a Reply

