TWD #17: Chocolate Cream Tart

chocolate-tart

 

I’m blaming Kim of Scrumptious Photography for my recent two pound weight gain.   At least she’s in good company along with  Lauren and Holly, in choosing delicious, chocolate recipes for the month of April.  Of course, I could have exercised more, but what would have been the fun in that?

I made the crust for this on Friday, let it cool, wrapped it up in aluminum foil and made the chocolate cream on Sunday afternoon.

In the evening I assembled the tart.  After hiking with my son.   After letting him drive us around the largest city in our area.  (He only ALMOST hit one person.  But that guy looked like a total douche anyway.) 

Apparently my son believes that before changing lanes one really should come to a complete stop.  I disabused him of this notion, only to find out that he also thinks one should stop before going into a turn lane, too.   I’m getting a little curious about what they actually teach him in driver’s ed.   Or maybe he’s just overly cautious like his momma , whose motto for driving is “Drive minus five and stay alive!  (My other motto:  “Better SLOW than DEAD.” )  

I think I deserved a bit of chocolate-y heaven in tart form, didn’t I, to make up for the stress?

Anyway, the crust was shortbread-y and not too sweet, the chocolate cream was rich and smooth and EVERY dessert is better with whipped cream on top.   (My son, being a savory craver, says “Everything is better with gravy!”)

We love silly mottos in our family.   Fortunately (unfortunately for my waist-line) we also love dessert and this chocolate cream tart was delicious.

(Oh, and I’ll update this post with a photo later, but right now the camera is with my husband at work and he hasn’t had the time to upload them and email them.  Darn work, getting in the way of my VIP TWD post!)

13 Responses to “TWD #17: Chocolate Cream Tart”

  1. Mary Says:

    Jennifer, I can’t wait to see your pics. I just made and ate mine (well, not the whole thing). As the mother of a student driver, I say you deserve as much chocolate creaminess as you want!

    • jenjw4 Says:

      MarySue,
      My kitchen lighting just makes everything so yellow. I think my whipped cream looks like butter!

  2. Kayte Says:

    No wonder they all loved it…it looks fabulous. I laughed about the driving…our two 16 year olds went through all that last year and I thought I wasn’t going to have the patience! It is so amazing when they can drive themselves everywhere…no more 5 a.m. and 5 p.m. swim practices for ME! YAHOO!

    • jenjw4 Says:

      Kayte,
      My son will get his license in November. I’m really hoping he will be so excited about driving that he will hop in the car whenever asked, even though it will be for super fun errands like picking his sister up at cheerleading! Or running to the store for milk.
      Jennifer

  3. pamela Says:

    After being in the car with someone who is learning to drive, dessert would be a neccessity for me. Glad you enjoyed it and that you are all safe!

  4. Cristine Says:

    Your post made me smile!!! I am not looking forward to the day when I have to teach my kids to drive. You definately deserved some chocolatey goodness after that! Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  5. Margot Says:

    Oh, learning to drive. My mother wouldn’t even get in the car with me, which now that I think about it, was probably for the best. You definitely deserve chocolate!

  6. Sophie Says:

    MMMMMMM….your tarte looks so delicious!!! Yummie!

  7. Spike Says:

    I don’t think I would survive teaching a teen to drive. I would need to eat an entire chocolate cream tart a day to cope with the stress

  8. Margaret Says:

    I think every driver’s ed class should come with chocolate!!! Been there – twice!! Not fun!!!

    Anyway, tart looks just great.

  9. Heather Peskin Says:

    That slice of tart looks absolutely delicious. Yum!

  10. Brick Says:

    Decadent. I want.

  11. Amy Ruth Says:

    I am on my third young driver at 15 years old. Isn’t it fun? Amazing what video games do for their driving confidence. huh? Oh, and you definitely deserve the chocolate cream tart for this adventure in driving. My motto:: Just keep running. he he
    Great job!
    AmyRuth

Leave a Reply

