Random Tuesday Thoughts

randomtuesday

I wonder if my work, a small office between two halves of one restaurant, should be concerned that yesterday our landlady was locked out of all three entrances to her business.   Doesn’t that seem odd?

Have you ever disliked someone on sight?  And then he/she spoke and confirmed your instant enmity?   Obviously, I have, and her name wasn’t even Cindy.   I attended a work training last weekend and another attendee looked at me and said “Do you even speak Spanish?” in a very snotty tone.  (I work for an agency that provides services to migrant families that tend to be Hispanic, but my role is paperwork, not client services)   I really wanted to say “Just because I’m a blond haired, blue-eyed gringo doesn’t mean that I don’t speak Spanish!”  But, alas, she was right.  However, as my co-worker Mari said “Jennifer does really well!   She reads it and understands a lot.”  (Enough to be silently swearing in Spanish during this whole interaction!)  

I’m training to run (and by “run” I mean, “maintain the motion of running” because my “running” isn’t at a speed that ANYONE else would consider a “run” much less a jog!) a four mile race.  Unfortunately, my bladder is not enjoying the exercise and it seems, no matter what the distance, I have to pee horribly the last 1/2 a mile. 

Taylor and I went on a hike yesterday.  We had fun, other than, you know, the walking, the heat, the hills, and the COMPLAINING by a certain someone about the walking, heat and hills.

I joined another blogging recipe group, called “Sweet Melissa Sundays” and have yet to post.  I actually made the recipe this time, then my husband gave the cookies away before I could photograph them.   (Plus I’m lazy, especially on Sundays.)

Let’s say you have a drunk off her ass family member and she leaves a (negative) comment on your blog that she thinks makes sense but that actually brings the crazy, do you follow your normal rule of posting all comments (that aren’t spam) or do you remove it?

My bff IM’d me about having PMS and being sad about her (teenage) son’s upcoming band trip; she wishes they could afford for the whole family to go.   My sage wisdom “Well, he probably wouldn’t want you to go anyway.”   Yep, I’m sensitive like that.

Of course, if you are interested in more (better quality) random thoughts please visit Keely at the Un-mom.

15 Responses to “Random Tuesday Thoughts”

  1. Life with Kaishon Says:

    You are funny : ). Nice to meet you! I always LOVE blonde haired, blue eyed gringos. What kind of person would say something like that? I have definitely met people like that before. People you can’t stand before they even open their mouths!

    • jenjw4 Says:

      I wonder if it’s some kind of intuition? The picking up of nonverbal clues that gives one an idea of the other person’s personality? IDK, but it’s weird when that happens and I wonder how often it happens in reverse, where someone meets me and thinks “Umm… no.”

  2. Ms. PH Says:

    About the comment – I have decided to leave all comments on my blog, regardless of what they say, how crazy they are, or how mean spirited. I figure the comment just shows the other person’s stupidity or prejudice.

    • jenjw4 Says:

      PH, I lean in that direction too, and even left an aryan nation type comment on one post. I debated it, worrying that people would think I agreed with the person, but ultimately decided that unless the person used inappropriate language or was threatening, I would leave it alone.

  3. T&T Says:

    I dislike a LOT of people upon laying eyes on them! hee hee!
    I couldn’t run down the block if I had too!

    That is the reason I do not tell anyone in my family that I have a blog!

  4. Harriet Says:

    Seems like lately the people that I dislike on site become my best buddies. What’s up with that?

    • jenjw4 Says:

      Harriet,
      That’s funny, because when I have a dislike like that, I feel guilty about it, and it seems like I try to be EXTRA nice to the person to make up for it.
      Jennifer

  5. Rix Says:

    Oh good grief #1 has become such a whiner too. Dontcha love it when you try to do the mother-son thing and it is really not so fun? And, yes, I do meet people that I know right away I won’t like…and I figure they feel the same about me. I like you right away, though. 🙂

    • jenjw4 Says:

      Rix,
      Luckily, I think there are also people I meet that I like right away, like you, Linda, Kevin, Howie, etc…
      Jennifer

  6. HollowSquirrel Says:

    I don’t understand your office’s location between two halves of one restaurant. I just don’t GET this. Can you please explain?! I will also need to know what kind of restaurant this is.

    • jenjw4 Says:

      Hollow,
      The restaurant forms a big “U” around our office, with one entrance on each side of our little store front office. The left side is the dine-in part, and the right side is actually a bar. With a jukebox on the wall DIRECTLY opposite my desk. Ugh.
      Jennifer

  7. Keely Says:

    I would leave it but make extensive fun of her for it.

    And you were totally right about your friend’s kid. Real friends are honest like that 😉

  8. Cameron Says:

    Drunk off her ass family member = if she’s drunk all the time, then you should leave the comment, but if the comment was left in a drunken rage, then she was clearly not in her ‘normal’ state of mind and, therefore, can be deleted.

    Happy RTT!

Leave a Reply

