Random Tuesday Thoughts

randomtuesday

My husband walked into our bedroom this morning and said “Good morning!”   (I hate morning people!) and I muttered “hi.”   He responded, “did you just say ‘hi’ or did you ignore me?”   I huffily replied,  “Um, I said ‘Hi’ why would you just assume I’d be grumpy and ignore you!?”   

Yes, I’m easy to live with.

Yesterday I went hiking with friends.  Who’s more annoying, do you think, the (nottoo) fast walker or the “OMG, you would never have survived the Great Molasses Flood of 1919!” slow walker?  I won’t bias your response by letting you know which group I fall into.

Did you know that all the BEST conversations start with “My husband would KILL ME if he knew I was telling you this….”   And end with “So you can’t tell anyone.”  

Have no fear, my lips are zipped.

Monday my son didn’t arrive home from school at his normal time, very uncommon for him, so I called the school and they tracked him down.  He was at a driver’s ed lesson (his last two had been cancelled,  so he was at a make-up session.)   A bit later I ran to pick him up and also gave his driver’s ed partner a ride home.   Taylor was a bit embarrassed and said “I can’t believe you called the school!”   I responded that I was worried that he “might have been kidnapped” and Taylor turned to his friend and said “See!  I knew she thought I was kidnapped!”  Then he turned to me and said “Mom, I’m a 15 year old boy.  How would anyone kidnap me?”

He’s a little over confident, I fear.

I pointed out it would be quite easy for:

a man with a gun

a midget with a spork

a kitten with toenail clippers

a toddler with a toothpick

a quadraplegic with looks that could kill

or a mongoose with a stale muffin

to kidnap him.

He really didn’t find me funny.  Who knew a fifteen year old boy with a burgeoning mustache would be so sensitive about his manliness?

My daughter, on the otherhand, is looking quite womanly and now has officially outgrown her mother, boob-wise.  Not that it was a difficult feat to accomplish. 

Playing charades, how does one pantomime “My Funny Valentine?”   Seriously?!  My teamates guessed “Cougar stuffing a ballot box.”

Last year, when my son graduated from middle school my husband took him to TJ Maxx.  He got a pair of dress pants, a shirt, tie and dress shoes.  I think it took them about half an hour.   This Sunday I took my daughter shopping for a graudation dress.   It took five hours.   We had six arguments AND it’s not over yet.   We still have to shop for undergarments and jewelry and she needs to get her hair and nails done.   

Tip:  NEVER take your teenage daughter shopping while hungover.  

Does anyone know if it’s “The Un Mom,”  “The UnMom,” or The Un-Mom?”  I guess I should ask Keely, who, BTW, would love a visit to her Random Tuesday Thoughts.      

14 Responses to “Random Tuesday Thoughts”

  1. gigidiaz Says:

    Oh you have quieted my fears of having a boobless daughter who would blame me for her booblessness (with reason). I’m so glad!

    Happy RTT!!!

    • jenjw4 Says:

      Oh, I’m definitely a “Littlest Angel” in “Designing Women” speak, but my daughter is falling far from the tree. Maybe it helps to have a really busty mother-in-law?

  2. Cameron Says:

    A midget with a spork….good one 🙂 And very PC of you!

  3. T&T Says:

    finally after more than 10 years – my hubs has learned not to speak to me in the morning until I speak first!

  4. Megan Says:

    BWAH HA HA HA HA HA! Thanks for the laugh. My 11 year old informed me that I am overprotective. I told her that’s nice, get used to it. She’s also entering the lying/smart mouth phase. 5 hours shopping? Sounds like my daughter all right!

  5. Eyebrows McGee Says:

    “Did you know that all the BEST conversations start with “My husband would KILL ME if he knew I was telling you this….” And end with “So you can’t tell anyone.” ”

    ABSOLUTELY TRUE.

  6. Peggy Says:

    My husband would kill me if he knew I was telling you this but that was some awesome RTT!

    So you can’t tell anyone!

  7. GreenJello Says:

    Took son-in-law shopping for a pair of eyeglasses. He picked out a frame in less than 3 minutes. Took 13-yo daughter shopping for eyeglasses– 1 hour later, after she’s tried on every frame in the store, she picks one.

    Yeesh.

  8. carolina Says:

    What a great post! My daughter never can find anything to buy. She browses forever and nothing will do! I refuse to go shopping with her anymore. When she has to go with me, I always tell her you have 30 minutes or I WILL leave you.

  9. Themis Says:

    Seriously, when are you taking your act on the road? LMAO

  10. idonotknowme Says:

    Slow walkers are much more annoying than fast walkers (says me, a notoriously fast walker).

    Why are special undergarments required for your daughter’s graduation? Is she planning to end up in a hotel room with a guy she is trying to impress?

  11. Cristine Says:

    HILARIOUS! Thanks for the laugh!

  12. jenjw4 Says:

    IDKNM,
    Hmm.. I should hope not, she’s only graduating from 8th grade! Little young for men and hotel rooms, since she’s not even allowed to date, LOL. The special undergarments are because her dress is white (so they need to be nude colored as not to show through) and has spaghetti straps (so her bra will need to be strapless).
    T&T, I think my husband and kids are slow learners. They still attempt to interact at seven a.m.
    Megan, I hope she hasn’t started with the whole “Don’t you trust me?” bit. It’s so annoying. I just respond “Nope, sorry.”
    Eyebrows, sometimes I wonder if we talk more or less about them then they think we do.
    Peggy, Oh, I’m getting good at keeping things on the DL.
    GreenJello, I think you got off easy with an hour!
    Caroline, I have done the same thing in the past, as the older I get, the less I seem to enjoy shopping.
    Themis, sadly I suffer from stage fright and have even been known to bring a book to a party.
    Cristine, I’m glad you enjoyed it. I love RTT.

  13. HollowSquirrel Says:

    fucking slow walkers. Send midgets with sporks after them alllll. You crack my shit up. That’s it. My shit be cracked.

Leave a Reply

