TWD # 10 Lemon Cup Custard

Sunday afternoon my dear friend Secret Server (SS) came over and we made our  “Tuesdays with Dorie” recipe together.   This week’s recipe was suggested by the prolific Bridget of “The Way the Cookie Crumbles.”

But first we made dinner, a plate full of food reminscent of my parent’s 70’s kitchen, full of yellows, oranges, greens and browns:  

Smokey mac’n’cheese = yellow, reddish-orange, green

Crescent rolls with butter = yellow and more yellow

Cauliflower, broccoli, carrots with cheese sauce = yellow, green, orange and more yellow

and for dessert?

Banana Pudding = yellow and brown

BTW, the smoky mac ‘n’ cheese was this recipe.  It was really quite good; I used whole wheat pasta and really think you could leave off the crumb/parmesan topping. 

While the meal was cooking we combined our super-secret-stashes of non-standard-sized ramekin-like containers and our custard making experience (I once made flan) to make the lemon cup custard.

Cooking together is always more fun.  Especially when you aren’t feeling great and your friend does all the work!

SS got out the milk to steep the zest in, commenting,  “I think there’s a pubic hair on your milk container.”    Appetizing!   And mysterious.         

I’ve decided NOT to ponder that too much.

After the zest had steeped covered for half an hour, SS whisked the eggs with the sugar, and then I poured the warm milk/zest mixture into the sweetened eggs.  We added an 1/8th a teaspoon of lemon extract.

Assembling our motley psuedo-ramekin collection, we poured the custard mix into the containers and surrounded them with simmering water. 

 

twd-lemon-custard-003

After popping the custard into the oven, we partook in our monochromatic meal followed by a few games of bananagrams and some banana pudding.

Guess what?  Neither “lude” nor “yut” is a word.    (I guess the dictionary doesn’t include drug slang or the existence of a yurt/hut combo.)  But, just FYI,  “ho,” “woed,” “loper” and “qua” all are.     

SS’s mad bananagram skilz were interrupted by the oven timer announcing the completion of our custard.     She took it out of the oven and we peered at it.   Not jiggly.  Unlike my ass.      

They were pretty, yellowy colored little blobs of solidified egg with a light lemon scent.   We went ahead and tasted one.

Lemon scrambled eggs.  

lemon-custard-004

 

We covered them with plastic wrap  and put them in the fridge to cool (the recipe recommends chilling them for at least two hours).   

Struggling to use the word “qua” in a sentence, I popped a ‘lude, sat in my yurt-hut (yut!) and woed the time that SS and her lopers would have to depart, yelling forth “Lemon Cup Custard, Ho!” in encouragement. 

 Later that night, my brain taxed, I decided to further relax with a now-chilled custard.  The verdict?   I think, if you are a custard lover, these are probably delightful.    I’m just more of a creamy chocolatey pots de creme type of chick.

Hence the jiggly ass.

11 Responses to “TWD # 10 Lemon Cup Custard”

  1. Mary Says:

    re: pubic hair on the milk- maybe you got carried away with the kinky kitchen theme from last Tuesday? Thanks for baking with me.

  2. Cathy Says:

    Wow, your kitchen is a happening place, that’s for sure! That is quite an assortment of custards you have there. We didn’t love this either. I guess I’m not a baked custard person either. But those chocolate pots de creme you were talking about . . .

  3. Teanna Says:

    HAhahahah “not jiggly. Unlike my ass.” hahahah you are hysterical! Those words, however, made my brain hurt!!!

  4. Spike. Says:

    Sounds like a fun evening despite the hair/milk situation and lemon eggs!

  5. Dragana Says:

    You are hysterically funny! I was in stitches reading a few of your posts! And I learned some new words. Thanks for sharing your great sense of humor.

  6. Sara Says:

    I love the varying cup sizes! So funny. I am also more of a creamy chocolate pot de creme girl and I come complete with the jiggly ass, too.

  7. Shari Says:

    Sounds like a fun, yellow time in your kitchen! I love how the custard looks unmolded.

  8. Margot Says:

    The random ramekin collection made for a great photo. Sounds like a fun Sunday afternoon.

  9. Susan at Sticky,Gooey,Creamy,Chewy Says:

    You are too funny! How fun that you had someone to make your custards with. I love the little molded ones! Sorry you didn’t care for them. They still look great!

  10. Katrina Says:

    Ha, great post! But as soon as you said bananagram, I
    thought these custards would be a lot tastier with some banana flavoriing instead of lemon. Hmmm.
    I LOVE Scrabble!

  11. Jennifer Says:

    Love the “cups of many sizes” you used – very creative. It’s always nice to cook with someone. I do that occassionally with a friend from some of my culinary classes and we always have a great time.

    Fun post!

Leave a Reply

