TWD #9: Chocolate Armagnac Cake

        

    Last week’s “Tuesday with Dorie” post totally lacked photos, so this time I had my daughter take several.  This week’s recipe is for Chocolate Armagnac Cake, chosen by the sedulous Lyb, of  And Then I do the Dishes.   

     

    The cake is delicious, chocolatey and extremely moist, likely due to the addition of brandy flambeed (how does one make that accent mark?) prunes.  You are likely thinking “PRUNES?”  But, boy, I could eat a whole bowl of those brandied prunes!

     

    probably shouldn’t, but, hey, they were that good.

     

    Speaking of diarrhea, I meant this to be a photo essay and got all verbal on ya.  So, back to the photos:    

    p3010010-small

     (If it weren’t for that stupid crumb and the slight glare, I’d be submitting this to food gawker.)

    This one I call “The Pacman:” 

    1. p3010011-small
      Pacman’s gaping maw:p3010012-smallBlurry?  Or Arty?  It’s up to you to decide:p3010013-small

       The “Reverse Pacman:”

      p3010014-small

  1. Even better than the “reverse cowgirl!”

     

     I actually substituted regular old Kroger’s brandy, for the armagnac.  Hey, it must be good as it said “VS, Very Smooth” on the bottle.   Basically this brandy is how I like my men, rico y sauve.

     This cake is soooo delicious, and while it has a few “extra” steps like grinding the pecans, flaming the prunes (Now doesn’t that totally sound like a very dirty euphimism?), and melting the chocolate over a water bath, nothing was difficult and the result is spectacular.   This is a very tasty cake, and pretty sturdy;  it would make an excellent addition to a potluck party. Especially if you also tote along the rest of the bottle of brandy.

    I can only hope that the next party I attend will involve “grinding the nuts,” “flaming the prunes,” and “tasty cakes!”   But maybe not the “reverse pacman!”

20 Responses to “TWD #9: Chocolate Armagnac Cake”

  1. mike Says:

    SOMEONE enjoyed it, obviously! Looks fantastic – even the “artsy” shot! I love the swirly frosting – just like a Betty Crocker cake. Only this one is more “grown up”. Nice job!

  2. Secret Server Says:

    Maybe you should rename your blog “the Kinky Kitchen”. Your cake looks great, and the plate is different. I hope to post my later after my company leaves.

  3. jenjw4 Says:

    Crap, I’m not exactly sure that “1.” by the 2nd photo came from! AND I had weird “won’t leave blank lines between paragraphs issues” and font issues too! So sorry this isn’t the best looking post!

  4. Katie Says:

    I adore you!

  5. Random Tuesday Thoughts « Keep Passing the Open Windows Says:

    […] Just another WordPress.com weblog « Asthma, COPD and Pulmonary Fibrosis, Oh, My! TWD #8: Chocolate Armagnac Cake […]

  6. pinkstripes Says:

    Your cake looks great. I like the way you decorated it.

    You can get the e with the accent mark by selecting the symbol that looks like a horseshoe when you are writing your post. There are a whole bunch of crazy symbols there.

  7. Jennifer Says:

    Pinkstripes, thanks! I have also found, by reading others’ posts, that I apparently don’t know how to spell flambe!

  8. Teanna Says:

    Hahahah “Speaking of diarrhea” hahahaha hysterical!!! The cake looks absolutely delicious!

  9. jenjw4 Says:

    Hmm.. is it a little odd that wordpress, right above the comments on this page, says:
    ” Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)

    -I hate my husband, part 3″

    What part of prune cake makes wordpress think I hate my husband?

  10. Spike. Says:

    awesome, I love the reverse pacman. I mean cowgirl. I mean. ummm, okay I’m done.

  11. jadedgirl71 Says:

    Nope…I DEFINITELY like the reverse cowgirl better…
    No offense to pac man, but…yeah…definitely like the cowgirl thing better.
    ;o)

  12. lola Says:

    Jennifer, Thanks for checking my blog from time to time. I am new at this and trying to find time to have someone help me improve it. I seem to have trouble arranging photos and text. Your cake looks wonderful. It was a fun cake to prepare and delicious. I find participating in TWD great fun and sometime challenging. Have a good week. lola

  13. Kristin (This Week In Baking) Says:

    Great looking cake!!

  14. idonotknowme Says:

    Reverse Cowgirl is better than Pacman, reverse or otherwise.

  15. Katrina Says:

    Awesome photos! Looks great. Everyone is making me wish I had made this!

  16. MiddleAgedWomanBlogging Says:

    I like the Kinky Kitchen idea!! I am impressed with the looks of this cake.. you got all fancy with the frosting! I’ve been to that Reverse Cowgirl site…. trust me, that’s not what you want!!!

  17. Amy Ruth Says:

    Nice post and yea, I loved this cake! So great to love the recipe you bake and pay.
    Thanks for stopping by for a chat.
    AmyRuth

  18. pamela Says:

    This post had me thinking about WAY more than cake…and I like that! Looks great.

  19. Shari Says:

    Hysterical post! Glad you liked it.

  20. Sophie Says:

    MMMMMM…..I just love the pacman face!!!! Wow! what an excellent superb yummie cake!!!

Leave a Reply

