TWD #8: Caramel Crunch Bars

Me:  “Honey, do you like the bars?”

The Hubs:  “Not really.  Did you make them right?  I think you made them wrong.  They are crunchy.  And kinda oily.”

Me:  “Yes, I made them right!  And they are called “Caramel Crunch Bars, so yes, they are SUPPOSED to be crunchy.”

But maybe not oily….

Other things that went wrong this week:

1.  I had a terrible wedge-y all during spin torture class.

2.  I yelled at my kids for not doing their chores.

3.  My husband and I argued about NOTHING……   TWICE!

4.  I never managed to take a picture of the caramel crunch bars. 

I am ready for this month to be over!  Thank goodness it’s almost March.

If you would like the recipe, it’s available at Whitney’s blog, What’s Left on the Table.   (Researching the oily issue, I think my butter must have been too warm when I started the recipe.  And, overall, while not a favorite, the bars did taste pretty darn good. )

12 Responses to “TWD #8: Caramel Crunch Bars”

  1. Cameron Says:

    Only twice…that would be a record low at my house.

  2. Cathy Says:

    Even though I beg for candid feedback, I get testy when the feedback is not glowing, particularly if I like what I made. I bet I would have loved your bars, crunchy/oily and all. On to March . . .

  3. Sara Says:

    Aww, I hope things get better soon. At least you got yourself to spin class, that is more than I can say for myself lately.

  4. pamela Says:

    Well…a wedge-y can ruin any body’s day…especially during spin class! I’m sure the bars were great! Hang in there…it’s almost over!

  5. Katrina Says:

    Hate wedgies! The bars are good. These do have A LOT of butter.

  6. Kristin Says:

    I had the oily problem too and my butter was warm! Maybe that’s part of why I didn’t care for these!!

    Oh wedgies during spin are bad. You need to upgrade to cycle shorts!

  7. Susan at Sticky,Gooey,Creamy,Chewy Says:

    So sorry the bars didn’t turn out great for you. I’ve been there many times myself!

    The good news is that February is the shortest month, so it will be over that much sooner. 😉

  8. Lady Baker Says:

    I’m laughing out loud at the wedgie in spin class!! Hey, oily or not, I am sure they were great! (I hate when there is a pause in between “How are they/How is it?” and my husband’s reply!) Time is ticking down on February! I can see March on the horizon already!

  9. Spike. Says:

    a wedgie and oily cookies? sounds like a bad day…As a spin instructor, may I suggest cycle shorts (no knickers) and sitting far back in your seat? No need to make spin any more painful than it already is. I have high hopes for next week (the recipe, not the wedgies)!

  10. Teanna Says:

    Ack!!! Sorry it has been a crazy few weeks for you! Here’s to March!

  11. jenjw4 Says:

    The worst part about the wedgie? Normally I sit in the back row, actually every week EXCEPT this week, which really precluded taking care of the wedgie (since there were people seated behind me!)

  12. Keely Says:

    omg, it’s a good thing I already have a bloggy thing going on Tuesdays because this would totally blow the whole “diet” thing. I don’t need a picture, those sound fantastic.

Leave a Reply

