TWD #7 Devil’s Food White Out Cake

It’s a given:
1. If “Napoleon Dynamite” is on TV, I’ll watch it.
2. When I drop off the kids at school in the morning I will say “Have a great day. I love you!”
3. And they will respond “Yah, whatever.”
4. If I’m a passenger in your car I will say “SLOW DOWN!” (To which my fifteen year old recently replied, “I’m going SEVEN.”)
5. And, if there is cake, I will eat it.

Even if it might be salmonella-tainted from undercooked frosting.

Oh, and I’ll even feed it to my family (and family friends, the lucky ducks!)

I guess this post should be entitled “A Tale of Two Cakes,” or maybe, “Bakers with Malfunctioning Mixers Get the Poos Blues.”

To make a long story short, I bought a cheap stand mixer at Walmart. This mixer:

p2160004-small

If you are tempted to buy this clearance mixer, do not do so! Otherwise, you, too, will be telling the tale of “_______ and the No Good, Very Bad, Possilby Lethal Whisk Attachment.”

I tested out my new appliance making this weeks “Tuesday’s with Dorie” pick, Devil’s Food White Out Cake, suggested by Stephanie of Confessions of a City Eater.

This is a great recipe, yet my first attempt at this cake was not a success.

First I forgot a key ingredient in the cake-the boiling water, and my cake came out a bit flat. Tasty but flat. (I think that’s probably also how my husband describes me to his co-workers, LOL.)

Then, attaching the whisk to the mixer I added the 242 degree simple syrup to the egg whites and beat it for about five minutes. This is where the mixer earned it’s FAIL status, as the syrup pretty much solidified in the bottom of the bowl, because the whisk wasn’t long enough to reach the bottom inch of the mixing bowl. (Um, yah, and that also solves the mystery of the slow beating egg whites.)

I’m pretty sure the un-mixed-in simple syrup was unable to heat the egg whites to the point of being technically safe to eat. But, somehow this didn’t strike me until AFTER we ate the cake and I had a stomach ache. (And a stomach ache on Valentine’s Day is quite the romance killer!)

I guess the crumbled cake topping covered up the fact that my icing was basically whipped egg whites!

Yesterday I remade the cake remembering the boiling water and it had a wonderful, light crumb and great chocolate flavor. Plus, it was surprisingly easy to cut horizontally and stack without breaking.

And the frosting was a dream, marshmallow-y, amazingly light, white, bright and fluffy. Of course, I did have to beat it with my hand mixer for an incredibly long time, but it was worth it.

p2160040-small
Devil’s Food White Out Cake, now “Salmonella Free!”

14 Responses to “TWD #7 Devil’s Food White Out Cake”

  1. pamela Says:

    Hmmmm…that mixer was obviously on clearance for a reason, huh? Sorry about that! The cake looks good, but I had some trouble with the frosting. It was still tasty, though. Good job.

  2. Amanda Says:

    LOL! Loved your post. We loved this cake and I may even make it again sometime!

  3. diane Says:

    You know, the raw batter tastes just as good. And that raw egg white thing… it’s a myth… or I’d have had 1000 cases of Salmonella by now!

  4. chocolatechic Says:

    I’m sorry that your mixer didn’t do so well.

    Your cake is cute.

  5. Sara Says:

    Yes, a good stand mixer is a good investment. Sorry to hear about your frosting debacle 😦

  6. Amy Says:

    The frosting’s texture was incredible, wasn’t it? I’ve never made anything quite like it. SO fluffy.

  7. Carolina Says:

    Okay, now I regret not making the frosting! I am so happy you told me about the mixer. If I saw it on clearance, I would have bought it. I wish someone would have warned me about my stupid griddle. I HATE it. I have only used it three times. It burns everything or under cooks everything. Never in between (sigh). I think it is awesome you baked it twice.

  8. AmyRuth Says:

    Sorry about the mixer, so disappointing. I am so impressed that you made it all again. You are super Mom! Great job and glad you liked it.
    AmyRuth

  9. dharmagirl Says:

    An entertaining post! Kudos for making the cake a second time!

  10. Cathy Says:

    You were a real trooper to make this again! Sorry about that mixer. Your finished cake looks fabulous! I’m glad that it lived up to your expecations as a devoted cake lover!

  11. Teanna Says:

    Hahah Great post! I am SO that person who shouts – slow down!!!! It drives people crazy! I guess that’s why I hate driving ANYWHERE! I’d rather walk! The cake looks fantastic!!!

  12. pinkstripes Says:

    Good for you for making it again. I’m glad it all worked out in the end. It truly is a great cake.

  13. Spike. Says:

    I’ll take the salmonella Free version!

  14. Susan at Sticky,Gooey,Creamy,Chewy Says:

    Kudos for giving the cake another try! That was a big investment in time and eggs! 😉 Looks great!

Leave a Reply

