TWD #2: Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins

Comments posted on the “Tuesdays With Dorie” blog about this recipe lead me to believe that either great minds think alike or I’m not very original! Almost everyone seemed to be making these muffins with chili. I didn’t make chili but kept with the southwestern soup theme and made “Chipotle chicken and tomato soup,” one of my favorite “Cooking Light” recipes.

While the soup was simmering I began the muffins by preheating the oven and spraying my new mini-muffin pan with cooking spray.

I’m sure my mini-muffin pan was thrilled that it’s inaugural use was for a Dorie recipe. (Yes, I do anthropomorphize my kitchen implements.)

So far my TWD recipes have had a theme, luckily not of raw chicken for dinner, but of using the wrong sized pans! Luckily the recipes have not suffered from the substitutions.

I whisked the dry ingredients in a large bowl and mixed the buttermilk, melted butter and egg yolk (YIKES, I just realized I may have actually added the whole egg on accident; I don’t remember seperating the yolk from the white.) I poured the liquid ingredients over the dry and quickly mixed them with a spatula and added in the corn, peppers and cilantro.

Unfortunately I didn’t have fresh cilantro and subbed in a couple of frozen cubes of the green herb.

It turned my batter a slightly sickly yellow green color.

Reagan’s new cookie scoop worked well in dividing the dough into the 24 mini-muffin cups. I popped the muffins into the oven and baked them for 12 minutes, cooled them for 5 minutes and then removed them from the pan.

The green color had dissipated and the muffins were a lovely yellow, tinged with the small bits of red and green pepper pieces.

My soup was good and the muffins were the perfect complement. They had a lovely texture, were moist and flavorful without being too spicy.

17 Responses to “TWD #2: Savory Corn and Pepper Muffins”

  1. Kimberly Says:

    Your muffins look great! Enjoyed your post!

  2. Jamie Says:

    Your soup sounds like the perfect compliment to these muffins, yum!

  3. Secret Server Says:

    Your muffins look so cute and perfect!

  4. chocolatechic Says:

    Your muffins look wonderful.

    We just loved them.

  5. Spike Says:

    Soup and cornbread muffins sounds perfect to me, nice work

  6. Danielle Says:

    I was one to make chili with these but your Chipotle chicken and tomato soup sounds very good! Your muffins came out great good job.

  7. carolina Says:

    First of all, I love the name of your blog. Second, Welcome to the club! Thirdly, way to go on those muffins, girl. They looks good!

  8. Kristin Says:

    Your muffins look great, and I still plan on making the soup recipe you posted!

  9. Rebecca Says:

    Oh, yum! Thanks for posting that soup recipe. I’m sure it was great with those muffins.

  10. Wendy Says:

    Welcome to TWD! Your muffins look gorgeous.

  11. Marthe Says:

    I would stick with the ‘Great minds think alike’-theory!! (Otherwise I would have to admit not being original too!) Your muffins look gorgeous!

    Welcome to TWD!!

  12. Leslie Says:

    Your muffins turned out great! Welcome to TWD!

  13. peggy Says:

    welcome and that tomato soup sounds delicious. Your muffins look great.

  14. Cathy Says:

    I love that you anthropomorphize your kitchen implements — I can tell that I am going to like you 🙂 So glad that you enjoyed these (and that soup that you linked to looks great — I will have to try it!) Welcome to TWD!

  15. Teanna Says:

    Thanks for sharing that soup recipe! It sounds delicious and must have went very well with your gorgeous muffins!

  16. pamela Says:

    WELCOME to TWD! Unfortunately, I had to look up anthropomorphize , but I keep trying! I think that whole egg you might have added helped keep your muffins more moist. While mine were a little on the crumbly side, they were still good! Great job!

  17. Jennifer Says:

    These were so good! Nice job!

Leave a Reply

