Today’s daily I.M. exchange with my BFF Secret Server:

SS: Hi, I’m back
SS: How’s your day going?
J: Oh, okay, still rueing this stupid cold.
J: How is your hair?
SS: Short.
J: Short?
SS: My hair is short.
J: How short?
J: Short for you?
SS: Not super short.
J: Or short for a regular person?
SS: But shorter than yours or L’s.
SS: Shoulder length.
J: Wow, do you like it?
J: I bet it looks cute.
SS: IDK yet.
J: Does it feel all light and bouncy?
J: I can’t wait to see it.
SS: So, what is new?
J: My Dr.’s office called and my bloodwork was okay.
J: My cholesterol was 143.
J: Anything under 200 for the composite is good,
J: but my iron levels were low.
J: So I have to take iron pills.
S: Ahhhh…
J: Which I guess I shouldn’t tell L. as I told her I don’t believe in vitamins!
J: I mean in taking vitamins, because I eat a well-balanced diet and many studies show that vitamins aren’t necessary.
J: So… well, my well balanced diet isn’t well balanced when it comes to iron, LOL
J: Okay, stupid question, do nuts have iron?
J: Since they have protein?
J: I guess I could look on a package of walnuts.
SS: I think nuts have some.

Later…
J: This day has been so slow!
J: While I don’t feel 100% I am looking forward to our class tonight
SS: maybe you should write a blog post
J: yah, I can’t think of anything to write about

Later still…..
SS: Have you read any good posts that I should read?
SS: Anything about -redacted-?
J: Nope
J: I just read your blog post.
J: But can’t think of an intelligent comment.
J: I am sure -redacted- will jump all over the “extra working at the strip club” thing
SS: Yes, maybe he will come see me there.
J: Maybe he has seen you!
SS: True.
J: And you just didn’t recognize him!
SS: Maybe he silently stalks me…
J: You could be being stalked without knowing it.

Even later…..
SS: Ugh, it is Med Part D open enrollment time again,
SS: with all the confusion.
SS: Gram is keeping same insurance
SS: but we just got a letter explaining that she can also apply for —–, which will help pay for drugs.
SS: And might help pay her insurance premiuims.
SS: IF, she goes to the social secuity website and applies for extra help
SS: if she gets extra help
SS: and applies for —–.
SS: Then we can apply for help paying insurance
SS: It is so confusing.
J: Yes, it sounds like it.
J: It’s probably like buying a purse, until you use it (the insurance/purse) in real life, you can’t really tell how good it is
J: by which time, well, you’ve already spent the money/made the decision.
J: But, you know, much more confusing than buying a purse, of course
J: and slightly more important, you know, since it involves one’s life/health and not just a conveyance for kleenexes and coupons
SS: I just don’t understand why you have to apply for “extra help” through ss, which doesn’t actually give you extra help, it just qualifies you to apply for help through —–.
SS: Why can’t you just apply with them in the first place?
J: Yes, that is stupid!
J: Maybe I should blog about this?’
SS: About what?
SS: Medicare Part D?
J: Yep, and what a good friend I am giving you such advice? I mean, not advice,
J: but compassionate shopping analogies.
SS: Yes, you could
J: Or would it be a metaphor?
SS: Not sure.
J: I can never tell the difference.
SS: Me either.
J: It’s kind of like that whole Alanis Morrisette, “Isn’t It Ironic Thing”
J: Somewhere I read that none of those examples are really irony.
J: It’s like being in a traffic jam, when you’re already late.
SS: A “no smoking” sign on your cigarette break.
SS: 10000 spoons when all you need is a knife.
SS: Meeting the man of my dreams, and then meeting his beautiful wife.
J: Oh, yes, I like that part!
SS: Me, too.
J: It’s like rain on your wedding day.
SS: The whole song reminds me of Howard Jones,
“No One is to Blame”
J: A free ride, when you’re already late.
J: Hmm.. can’t say I know it…
SS: Are you singing? Loudly?
J: Loudly, (in my head)
SS: You can look at the menu but you just can’t eat
You can feel the cushions but you can’t have a seat
You can dip your foot in the pool but you can’t have a swim
You can feel the punishment but you can’t commit the sin
SS: You can build a mansion but you just can’t live in it
You’re the fastest runner but you’re not allowed to win
Some break the rules
And live to count the cost
The insecurity is the thing that won’t get lost
SS: You can see the summit but you can’t reach it
It’s the last piece of the puzzle but you just can’t make it fit
Doctor says you’re cured but you still feel the pain
Aspirations in the clouds but your hopes go down the drain
SS: Probably 10 years earlier than the Alanis song
SS: 1985
SS: I just looked it up.
J: Hmm… I’ll have to find it on Youtube.
SS: Oh, I was a good guesser!
SS: “Ironic..” was 1995
SS: I should do something useful.
(Um, yah, maybe me, too!)

10 Responses to “Today’s daily I.M. exchange with my BFF Secret Server:”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Don’t you just love best friends?! : )

  2. Rixie Says:

    Huh. You really were slow today!

    But I totally want to see SS’s hair!

  3. steenky bee Says:

    I’m calling your supervisor.

  4. Katie Says:

    Wow! SS quit her job, got new hair, and tried to figure out Medicare. That is quite a crazy week!

  5. Secret Server Says:

    I’m so glad I could help you write your post. You left out how I am sure I could recognize redacted since I have been studying his naked ass picture. And the interesting part of the discussion when I flaunted my knowledge of oxilates. That probably would have been too much and given your readers the impression we just IM each other all day.

  6. redacted Says:

    Very funny “conversation” you had there ladies.

    Since I wouldn’t be on stage at The Club I am not sure how recognizing my naked ass would help 😉

    Iron foods.

  7. Ms. PH Says:

    What kind of scares me is that I totally followed the whole conversation, including the “ironic” stuff.

    By the way . . . if you start cooking in a cast iron pan, you will take care of your iron needs immediately. Better than taking vitamins.

  8. Jennifer Says:

    Oh, thanks for all the good advice! I’d much rather get the iron from everyday sources rather than take iron pills. I wonder why the doctor didn’t recommend that first? Especially since the iron pills can cause “dark stools and constipation.” Ick!

    I have two cast iron pans but they are both the enamel coated ones, so I wonder if they allow iron to leech into the food?

  9. Eyebrows McGee Says:

    Nope, it has to be naked cast iron. Nena’s Do It Best has them, as does UFS. Lodge is the best brand … and made in America. And cheap. 😀

  10. Jennifer Says:

    Eyebrows,
    Yes, I was thinking the enamel likely would interfere. Darn.
    I would never have thought to look at Nena’s. And I haven’t been in UFS forever, but love it. They have such a compendium of oddities…
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

