Driving Tay to school this morning I asked him what kind of cake he would like for his birthday.

Ever terse in the morning, he said:
I. DON’T. LIKE. CAKE.

Okay, weirdo boy, is there another dessert you would like for your birthday?

“Cupcakes.”

10 Responses to “”

  1. Sarah Says:

    I didn’t like cake either as a kid…well still don’t so I would have a birthday pie!! : )

  2. Cameron Says:

    Our daughter pulled the same thing this year. But every time she wishes on a star, she wishes for cake….hmmm.

  3. Cory Says:

    I went through an “I don’t like cake” stage from about age 14 until age 22. I think I just did it to be rebellious and angstful.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Yes, were you wearing dark eye make-up and sighing dramatically during your IDLC stage?

    I think, unfortunately, that my kids are rebelling by being Republicans. Next thing I know, they will be listening to country music and saying “git ‘er done.”

  5. Rixblix Says:

    No to cake, yes to cupCAKE? Maybe it’s a size issue. Perhaps he prefers his desserts in miniature form. It’s like a “Fanny Dooly” from that show, ZOOM on PBS…Fanny Dooly LOVES cupcakes but HATES cake.

  6. Ms. PH Says:

    Actually, I much prefer cake to cupcakes because cupcakes are often all about the frosting and I like the cake part the best. Plus, you can be much more creative about the fillings in a cake and not so much in a cupcake. And, the serving sizes are usually bigger.

  7. idonotknowme Says:

    Cupcakes are way better than cake. Unless you have a bunch of people over to consume the whole cake, storing it is a pain. Cupcakes can be frozen and then thawed a few at a time. That’s tougher to do with cake.

  8. Anon E. Mouse Says:

    Cake is just a nifty way to eat frosting.

    BTW, I discovered that, for the most part, Trefzgers is cheaper than Walmart/Kroger if you avoid the character/toy driven sheet cakes.
    …and way, WAY better.

  9. Linda Says:

    My older brother had to have pineapple upside down cake for his birthdays, and my mom still makes them for him to this day in her iron skillet (he’s 50…moms and their boys, GEESH!). I, on the other hand, had to have angel food cake with the gooey marshmallow frosting. My sister had chocolate cake with chocolate frosting. Anyway, each kid is different. If he wants cupcakes, what the heck. It’s his birthday. Just don’t let him pull that stuff every day of the year! šŸ™‚

  10. Jennifer Says:

    Anon,
    I am actually too cheap to buy a store cake, so I usually bake ours! A batch of homemade cupcakes will cost me about $2.50-$3.00 to make two dozen. I do love Trefzger’s though, when other people are buying!

    Linda,
    Wow, you and your siblings had diverse tastes. I love pineapple upside down cake, too, but my kids and husband are all chocolate. As a chil I usually had an ice cream cake from Baskin Robbins. Chocolate cake with mint chocolate chip ice cream. Mmmm.. that sounds good right now.

    IDNKM,
    I actually asked Tay about the cupcake preference last night and he said “they are portable” so I guess he just likes being able to carry them around?
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

