Double-Chocolate Muffins

Yesterday I took the day off work to go hiking with two of my friends, MarySue and Laura, at Starved Rock. We had a really great time and walked eight miles. We didn’t get killed by a serial killer but we did have to use a port-a-potty.

The night before I made this muffin recipe and it was really good.

Better than Canyon Sex Double-Chocolate Muffins (adapted from Eat Better America)
1 cup Fiber One® cereal
1 1/3 cups buttermilk (I used low-fat buttermilk)
1/4 cup canola or vegetable oil (you can also sub in applesauce for part or all of the oil)
1 egg
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup unsweetened baking cocoa
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/3 cup miniature semisweet chocolate chips (I used regular, not mini chips)
1-2 mashed ripe bananas (I added one)

1. Heat oven to 375°F. Place paper baking cup in each of 12 regular-size muffin cups. Place cereal in resealable food-storage plastic bag; seal bag and crush with rolling pin or meat mallet (or crush in food processor).
2. In medium bowl, mix cereal and buttermilk; let stand 5 minutes. Stir in oil, vanilla, egg, brown sugar and mashed banana, (if using).
3. Combine the flours, baking soda and salt. Add the chocolate chips. Stir with fork or whisk. (Mixing the chips in with the flour helps keep them from sinking to the bottom of the muffin when they are baking).
4. Add the flour mixture to the liquid mixture and stir just til moistened. (There will be lumps and that is fine, you just don’t want dry streaks of flour.)
5. Divide batter evenly among muffin cups.
3. Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Immediately remove from pan.

Nutritional Information
(The nutritional stats don’t include the added banana)
1 Muffin: Calories 210 (Calories from Fat 70); Total Fat 7g (Saturated Fat 2g, Trans Fat 0g); Cholesterol 20mg; Sodium 360mg; Total Carbohydrate 31g (Dietary Fiber 4g, Sugars 17g); Protein 4g Percent Daily Value*: Vitamin A 2%; Vitamin C 0%; Calcium 8%; Iron 10% Exchanges: 1 Starch; 1 Other Carbohydrate; 0 Vegetable; 1 1/2 Fat Carbohydrate Choices: 2
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.
MyPyramid Servings 1 tsp Fats & Oils, 1 oz-equivalents Grains

9 Responses to “Double-Chocolate Muffins”

  1. Sue Says:

    Are you telling us, they were good, but stay close to a bathroom? 🙂

  2. Laura Says:

    Ah, canyon sex… I only fantasize about it. The muffins were good though likely not as good as sex in a craggy canyon with Craigy.

  3. Kristen Says:

    Yum! These sound like a great breakfast!

  4. jenjw4 Says:

    Sue,
    You are so funny! They did include fiber but I think the issue was exercise-related consumption of extra water!

    Laura,
    I liked the muffins, too, and the one I ate warm was really good. I think they were good for even “diet-y” type food.

    Kristen,
    Yes, I think the next batch I make I’ll use 2 bananas, apple sauce for the oil and then I’ll freeze 1/2 the batch for future breakfasts. (This batch I sent most of to work with my husband because I tend to over-indulge in baked goods!)
    Jennifer

  5. Ms. PH Says:

    I don’t think any recipe that claims to be better than sex should start with “one cup of Fiber One cereal.” Jeez . . . my grandma used to eat that stuff.

  6. Rixblix Says:

    WTF is Canyon sex, anyway?

    And when I first read the title I read it as “Better than Canyon…..Sex Double Chocolate Muffins”.

  7. Laura Says:

    Canyon sex is what my husband would not participate in during our last trip to Starved Rock. It is just what it sounds like – having sex in a canyon.

  8. Billy Dennis Says:

    I was thinking of a dirty joke, the last two lines of which are:

    “You didn’t have to say it twice.”

    and

    “I didn’t.”

  9. Rixblix Says:

    Whew. Thanks for clearing that up Laura! I’m not sure what was running through my head, but it wasn’t nearly has simple as your explanation! 🙂

Leave a Reply

