This has been a busy week, especially for Reagan, who has had cheerleading, declamation, basketball practice, chorus and a meeting for her upcoming middle school D.C. trip.

Speaking of chorus, last night Reagan told me, “I’m a soprano but want to be an alto and Maggie is an alto and wants to be a soprano, so we went up to the teacher and asked if we could ‘switch.'”

Uh, yah, and while you were talking to her, did you also tell her how you’ve always wanted blue eyes, so maybe you could also trade eyeballs?

Additionally, Reagan is running for treasurer of student council.

Her motto?

“#1 Reason to vote for me? I’m the only one running!”

As for Taylor, he’s less busy, because he decided to quit football. My husband was really disappointed, but is coping. Taylor seems less stressed. He likes to have a lot of free time and, with the advent of the school year and lots of homework as a freshman, he was feeling pretty overwhelmed.

Earlier this week I asked him who he was going to ask to homecoming and he responded “First I am going to ask Alivia.”

I guess he has a back-up plan! (I think her name is Paige.)

Unfortunately, when he asked girl #1, she already had a date.

He is going to ask the girl #2 today. (And, possibly, girls #3, #4, #5…. next week)

Yesterday I took the day off work to have lunch with a friend and to run errands; in addition to buying the kids some school clothes and grocery shopping, I had to go to the health department to get copies of my kids’ birth certificates. Yes, I am the kind of mother that loses temporarily misplaces her childrens’ important documents.

Anyway, I approached the receptionist at the health department and she said,
“birth certificates?”

“Yes, ma’am.”

Following her directions I walked by the WIC and STD clinics. Which made me wonder, how did she know I was there for proof I gave birth to lovely babies years ago? No children with me, so not likely WIC, but, what, I don’t look STD-“worthy?”

(I guess taking a vacation day to run errands instead of doing something fun kind of answers that question!)

3 Responses to “”

  1. Rixblix Says:

    I have a truly awful high school moment involving running unopposed for senior class treasurer. I don’t think I’ve ever shared it with anyone but my husband. Remind me to tell you next time I see you…after Rea wins! đŸ™‚

  2. idonotknowme Says:

    What is declamation?

  3. Jennifer Says:

    IDNKM,
    It’s a subdivision of speech; they perform short skits.

    Rix,
    Now you are really making me wonder! I can’t imagine what could have happened.
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

