A (very) short horror story:

Last night my son asked me, “What do you have to do to ride a motorcycle?”

Shit!

“Umm.. take safety classes, pass a test, wear a helmet. Wait for your mother to die. And even then my moldy rotting corpse will haunt you.”

7 Responses to “A (very) short horror story:”

  1. Katie Says:

    That is fabulous! I think “The Road” is really effecting you. Did you smile at him after you said that? Because that would have been hilarious!

  2. Secret Server Says:

    I dread that converstaion with my soon-to-be-driving son too. When I was first married I told Lee he could NEVER drive a motorcyle because I was so scared of the risk. Now, I often think, “hmmm, we could save a lot of gas money”.

  3. Jennifer Says:

    Katie,
    I think I was in too much shock to smile! I have been indoctrinating my kids in the belief that motorcycles are awful, dangerous, stupid things since, um, they were born, so I was quite shocked that he would want one. (Maybe that will be his rebellion? Hmm… country music lovin’ vs. motorcycle riding? Which would be worse?)

    SS,
    Oh, you could just tell big E. that his hair wouldn’t fit in a helmet!
    Jennifer

  4. HollowSquirrel Says:

    My mom always called them donorcycles. Tell him he’d have to sign up to donate organs because when they scrape him up off the road, you want at least his spleen to go to a nice home. I already tell Jojo we don’t ride motorcycles because they’re dangerous. He loves them, naturally.

  5. kel Says:

    Maybe what would be worst is a country music lovin’ motorcycle riding son and his barefoot & pregnant girl of the week?

  6. jenjw4 Says:

    Kel, you are striking fear into my heart!

    HS, donorcycles, so true!

    He’s also started the “I want to drive! I can’t wait to drive!” litany. I’m like, “You’re 14! Enjoy being chauffered around while you can!”

  7. Jaded Says:

    My dad calls them “Murdercycles” LOL

    Good luck with that.

    UGH.

Leave a Reply

