And tonight he’s going to an “FFA” meeting!

I am reading “The Road” and I love it and hate it. I love the writing, very mental picture-inducing, but it’s heartbreaking. Extremely bleak. Nevertheless, I can’t seem to put it down.

I would definitely recommend reading “The Road” but would also suggest NOT reading it before bedtime.

My next read is the “Dexter” series of books and I actually think those-about a serial killer-will be lighter in tone.

No new developments on the Reagan boyfriend front. Actually, no development is a development, because I offered to have him attend the maroon and white scrimmage with us this Friday night and Reagan declined, saying she “just wants to hang out with friends.”

I think my assumption that she likes the idea of having a boyfriend (more than the boy himself) is right. Which is VERY good news to this mother of a headstrong thirteen-year old. (MOM! I’m almost fourteen!)

Taylor’s first day of high school went well. But yesterday, the first that involved going to the cafeteria for lunch, didn’t. Nothing disastrous, no dropped-tray-on-the-foot-of-a-brutish-senior-football-player-resulting-in-a-ruthless-pantsing. He just didn’t eat. Because he “didn’t know how the line works.” And he was unwilling to ask anyone. Poor kid. Apparently just following someone through the line and doing whatever they did didn’t occur to him.

He also had a couple of hours of homework last night, on his second day of school! Including an upcoming geometry project; he was assigned a shape, diamond, thank god, not an octagon, and has to take three photos that show a diamond shape. Two have to be outdoors, diamonds in architecture, nature, or art, and one can be from inside our house. He has to make a poster that includes the three photos and a description of “why the shape is interesting, using geometric terms.”

And the photos are due on Tuesday.

That’s the hard part; he has football practice everyday after school, a game Friday night, a practice Saturday morning and a football fundraiser Saturday afternoon.

Sunday will be not be a day of rest.

The project does sound like fun, other than the time crunch, or if we get the forecasted rain and end up taking pictures in a storm. (Hmm.. maybe my mom is right and Virgos are negative!)

We will likely go to the riverfront; there’s a bridge, a fountain, an interesting building, a playground and artwork. Lots of possiblities.

Good news! My work received “through the grapevine” word that we have another year of funding. Yay! My kids should be thrilled, as my most viable job alternative in this little town is lunch lady. Mom at school in a hairnet? Funny, if I weren’t the one wearing it!

6 Responses to “And tonight he’s going to an “FFA” meeting!”

  1. PeoriaIllinoisan Says:

    The riverfront’s a great choice. You should put your pics on your blog when you’re done. I’d like to see what you guys come up with.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    PI,
    That’s funny, because I spent most of the morning scouring “Name That Peoria Landmark” watching for diamonds and taking notes. I came up with the bridge by the riverfront (I’m hoping 2 triangles that adjoin at the base count), the doors at the Peoria Women’s club, the jungle gym at Poplar Park, the signs at Bicycle Safety town, the railing on the suspension bridge at Glen Oak Park (assuming it’s still there!), and wood detailing on the Peoria Fire Dept traning building.
    I figure we’ll go downtown to the riverfront first, and if we don’t have luck, that we’ll go to some of those places.
    So, just think, your blog isn’t just entertainment, but a source for homework help!
    Jennifer

  3. PeoriaIllinoisan Says:

    I think you’ll find all you need at the riverfront, and I am flattered that you used my site as a homework helper.

    If you happen to see anything that resembles a P or an E, let me know. I’m still searching for more of those for my blog header.

  4. ImaSwede Says:

    I read the Road when it first came out and thought it was the worst book I had ever read. I threw it away! And it was a hardcover!!! The next week Oprah chose it as her book of the month. A few weeks after that it won the Pulitzer…. pfft!!!

  5. Jennifer Says:

    PI,
    Okay, I’ll keep an eye out for “P’s” and “E’s” and snap a picture if I see anything promising.

    Ima,
    Oh, I thought it was so well-written and it really was memorable and really gave you a feeling that you were there. Very emotional-it was just brutally bleak and sad, too, especially in the more tender moments.
    Jennifer

  6. Rixblix Says:

    Jen…my take on The Road is just like yours. I couldn’t put it down and yet I dreaded picking it up again. The father-son relationship was what kept me going. I think it’s rare to read an authentic account of such a relationship. The other thing that struck me was the timelessness of the book….it could have taken place 100 year from now, 20 years from now, 10 years ago. It just sorta had that quality to me. I’m not at all a Cormac fan, but this book made me appreciate the nuances of his writing.

    Glad to hear you’ve got another funding cycle! I have no idea what you do and I can’t wait to find out! I also think our kids will get along. I think S is a male R, lovely attitude an all!

Leave a Reply

