Milestones

Yesterday morning my husband, Chris, came by my work. “Taylor is taller than me! Taylor is taller than me! I was standing outside his room this morning and we were both barefoot and he’s taller than me!”

Wow, just last summer Tay was 1/2 an inch shorter than me, 5’6′; being taller than Chris would make him around 6’0.” That’s a lot of growing in one year.

And a lot of outgrowing clothes!

But then this morning Chris came by my office again. “Taylor’s not taller than me! Taylor’s not taller than me! This morning I realized that I had been standing on the wood floor of the hallway and he was on the carpet of his room.”

Today I take him for a physical. I’m wondering, at fourteen, does Mommy go in with him?

I also wonder if he’ll have the “glove/coughing” test done? (If so, I’m sure Mommy won’t be in the room with him!)

Next week Reagan goes for a physical, too, and I plan on asking the doctor about Gardasil. I’m amazed at the controversy and astounded when people object to it because “it protects against a sexually transmitted disease.”

To those that are very religious, those that are certain “My daughter won’t have sex before marriage,” I query, what about her spouse? If her spouse is with one other person (either before or after marriage) that puts their daughter at risk. Isn’t the health of your child more important than a conservative or biblical stand?

So my quandary about Gardasil is not based on ethical concerns. My particular child *hates shots. She freaked out a couple of years ago when she had to have a TB test and the nurses had to literally hold her down. It was not a pleasant experience. And Gardasil is a course of three shots.

I am wondering if it would be better to wait a few years, hoping she would have more perspective about the whole “three shots vs. cancer protection” aspect of it.

That would also allow for a couple of more years of study of Gardasil and it effectiveness.

*Ya, I know everyone one else just LOVES them!

9 Responses to “Milestones”

  1. Cory Says:

    No, Mom does not go with the 14-year-old boy into the office for the physical. There will most definitely be a hernea test.

  2. jenjw4 Says:

    Oh, gosh, so should I warn him about it, or just let him find out on his own?
    Jennifer

  3. Maria Says:

    Good for you for considering the Gardasil for Reagan. If you do decide it is best for her to have it, maybe some sort of bribery would help? Nothing major, but maybe a new pair of shoes, jeans, or manicure would make it less traumatic.

  4. mortonmalaise Says:

    I’m SURE he’s already heard about it. He’s probably been dreading it for the past 6 months.

  5. Jennifer Says:

    He did go in by himself and was pretty noncommittal afterwards, so I think it went fine. He actually doesn’t mind going to the doctor-I think the worst part about it to him, especially in the summer, is what he could be doing instead of sitting around waiting (we were there about an hour and a half, for a physical!).

  6. mortonmalaise Says:

    I hate doctors. They’re like car salesmen with stethoscopes.

  7. katearch1978 Says:

    Hey! According to the doc, Gardasil is most effective if done by age 13. So if you’re gonna do it, you may as well do it when it’s most effective! (But ask the doc)

  8. HollowSquirrel Says:

    I’m not sure if you should prep him for the hernia test. It might not be a bad idea. As for your daughter, can you discuss the shot possibility with her — the pros of the shots versus the short-term pain?

  9. jenjw4 Says:

    We didn’t start the Gardasil regimen at this visit. If it was just one shot I think I would have, but you have to get three shots, at three seperate times. I think after the first one I’d have a hard time getting her to go back. She really freaks out about shots! I think she might be more reasonable (and easier to reason with? HOPEFULLY!) in a year, and we’ll likely do it then.
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

