Spy Guard

Yesterday at work, my officemate, Mari, says to me:
“Oh, a message just popped up that I have a virus.”

Me: “Is it from Norton anti-virus?”

Mari: “No.”

Me: “Oh, don’t click on it! It’s a virus.”

Mari: “No, it says I have a virus.”

Me: “No, it’s the virus. Don’t click on it.”

Mari: “I already clicked on it.”

Me: “Ugh. It’s a virus!”

Mari: “I know, it told me I have a virus.”

Me: “No, IT’S the VIRUS!”

Mari: “Now it wants me to buy a program to get rid of the virus.”

Me: “It IS the virus, it has infected your computer and now wants you to pay to get rid of it.”

Mari: “No, it’s the one that told me I had a virus.”

Me: Bangs head on wall and spends the next hour removing* said virus.

*Special thanks to my good friend Lee for his advice and help in this matter.

6 Responses to “Spy Guard”

  1. Cory Says:

    You know, when those things pop up on my machine, I often wonder aloud, “Does anyone actually fall for this crap?” Sad. Very, very sad. Same deal with the spam emails that tell you to click on a self-extracting file or .exe. The Intertubes have been around long enough now that NO ONE should fall for it anymore. Yet, they obviously do, or the jackasses would stop writing the programs.

  2. Billy Dennis Says:

    Bwahahaha!

    On the other side of the coin, my sister once adamantly refused to down and install a free version of Spybot Search and Destroy because the word “spybot” was in the title, and she read somewhere where “spybots” were bad.

  3. HollowSquirrel Says:

    My blood pressure spiked while reading this. I give you credit for not smacking her upside her head. Honestly.

  4. Billy Dennis Says:

    That woman was no more capable of NOT clicking on that button that a meth addict is capable to saying no. I deal with people like this every day. I can repeat my self a dozen times, but they will insist on pressing the button that I am tellign is the 100 percent absolutely wrong button to press.

    Actually, there is a sound reason why people behave this way.

    They are stupid.

  5. jenjw4 Says:

    Yes, it really was driving me crazy. Especially since, I recently had to replace her cordless phone battery (the previous one was only 2 months old but wouldn’t hold a charge) and it went something like this:

    Me: The new battery has to charge for 16 hours before you use it.
    Her: Oh, but I already used it.
    Me: Oh, it needs to charge.
    Her: That’s what the guy at the store said, but when I put it in it already showed it was charged.
    Me: But in the directions it says to charge it for 16 hours before the first use.
    Her: But I need to use it.
    Me: We have other phones, use one of them.
    Her: (on the phone) “Yah, I got a new battery, Jennifer said it needed to charge for 16 hours, but it’s working fine.”

    I’m predicting the new battery won’t last long either!

  6. postsimian Says:

    “My blood pressure spiked while reading this.”

    Ditto there.

Leave a Reply

