At least she used the right form of “their.”

I moniter my kids’ online activities, instant messages, cell phone usage, text messages, etc. They know it’s a part of being allowed to have an email address, having a Myspace page, and a cell phone.

Today I checked out my daughter’s Yahoo Answers! profile and looked at the questions she had answered. The first two were innocuous, a question about pets and “What’s the worst Hillary Duff movie?”

The third?

“What’s the wildest thing ur parents have done?”

Uh, oh.

Reagan’s respnse:

“hahaha we were at a hotel and i was in a different room. their room had a hot tub and i walked in on…….”

One, what happened to appropriate capitalization?

Two, OMG!

Three, at least she didn’t go into details!

A boy wanting advice on turning his girl friend into his girlfriend received this response from my daughter:

“aww that’s sweet. that happened 2 me once… i just kissed him and then he decided he liked me 2 lol.”

That’s an even bigger “OMG!”

But, I think she’s fibbing.

No, really, I mean it. Reagan like boys, but she’s not a “boy crazy” kind of girl (at least not yet!) and complains about her friends that are afflicted with that malady. She’s not lacking in adult supervision, has never been to a boy/girl party, so unless she’s kissin’ boys at school (highly doubtful), I think it’s pretty improbable.

Looking at her other questions, she answered a lot about pets. Her advice? “Name your dog ‘Jack,’ it’s a cute name for a cute dog.” “You don’t have to speak German to your German Shepard,” and, to someone who was still missing her dog six years after its tragic death:

“my brother killed my pet hamster a year ago. I still miss it!!!”

Um, we’ve never owned a hamster.

I guess my daughter’s online fantasy life includes kissing boys and sibling hamstercide.

I’m not sure which is worse.

17 Responses to “At least she used the right form of “their.””

  1. Rixblix Says:

    That’s HILARIOUS! But you sorta glossed over the hot tub incident, KPOW… πŸ™‚

  2. Michael Davis Says:

    Hey… if that’s all that is going on with her online, more power to you as a parent and more power to her for being responsible.

    Of course, you might want to change her name to “Abby” and contact the PJ Star about a job… πŸ™‚

  3. mortonmalaise Says:

    I assure you, madam, hamstercide is no laughing matter! πŸ˜‰

  4. Ms. PH Says:

    If I was making up stories about my brother at that age, they would have been a lot worse than hamstercide! I once told my brother we had an older brother who had died in a car accident and that my (real) brother was just a replacement son. Boy, I got in a lot of trouble for that one.

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Oh, and I guess I should be glad that she thinks married hot tub sex is “wild.”

  6. Jimi Says:

    I would love to be a fly on the wall when Reagan finds and reads your blog. Now that will be an interesting day.

  7. Cory Says:

    Jimi,
    It’s bound to happen as soon as the kids start clicking the pull-down button on the address bar.

  8. Michael Says:

    I had to quit blaspheming the school teachers when my boys found my blog. Rats!

    Don’t assume you didn’t have a hamster in the house, maybe YOU just didn’t know you had a hamster. I had a lizard in my bedroom when I was kid and I had him about a year before my mother discovered him. I left him on a leash (string around his neck safety pinned to the curtain) so he could catch bugs at the window and I forgot to put him back in his cigar box before going to school. Such a lecture I got!

  9. Cory Says:

    Michael,
    Growing up in South Florida, most of the guys I knew had a “pet” lizard in their room that their parents didn’t know about. They ARE really nice for keeping the bug population down.

  10. Michael Says:

    That’s probably where mine came from. I saw this ad for a chameleon on the back of a comic book and ordered him up with my hard earned paper route money. He showed up in a little box with meal worms and sawdust. I waited forever to watch him change colors but he was always green. I got rooked. But I was the only kid in the neighborhood with a real live lizard! I tried to set up a fight between him and a big praying mantis but they just stared at each other. What a bust! I had invited all my friends and they picked on me for weeks about my sissy lizard.

  11. jenjw4 Says:

    Hmm… interesting. Secret pets? I can’t imagine such a thing.

    Especially with my loud mouthed daughter, who said her life was” a living hell” when her brother ate her go-gurt. I think I’d hear about it (and the neighbor’s would, too) if he killed her pet!

    Cory, Oh, and I have super secret methods of accessing my blog at home, it never appears on the drop down menu. (Okay, if she explores my “favorites” I’ll be in trouble!)
    Jennifer

  12. Cory Says:

    …Or if the Autocomplete gets turned on in the address bar. Even URL’s that are accessed indirectly show up there.

  13. Jennifer Says:

    Cory,
    Oh, great, more to worry about! I think I’ll set up my own log-in on the computer so hopefully that will make things more secure. I really don’t want the kids to know about my blog, not yet. I think they’ll appreciate it when they are older (and I do plan on showing them, maybe when they are in college?) but not yet.
    Jennifer

  14. mortonmalaise Says:

    Just trying to help.

  15. postsimian Says:

    Just be glad SHE doesn’t have a secret blog.

  16. mortonmalaise Says:

    Postsimian,
    Who’s to say she doesn’t?

  17. Jennifer Says:

    OH, you guys are funny… giving me even more to worry about!

Leave a Reply

