Maybe “pamphlet” would be more appropriate?

Riding in the car yesterday Reagan said “Mom, remember when I went to that lock-in and the topic was abstinence?”

“Yah?”

“Well, one 6th grader asked ‘If abstinence is so great, then why are there prostitutes?'”

My son proclaimed this to be his new motto.

He wants to get bumper stickers and t-shirts printed and sell them; I’d love to encourage his entreprenurial spirit but I would also not like to be pariahs in our small, largely Apostolic Christian town of sixteen hundred (mostly) Republicans.

Her other tidbit of info:

“We’re making brochures in English class.”

Oh? For what?

“The Holocaust”

11 Responses to “Maybe “pamphlet” would be more appropriate?”

  1. Rixblix Says:

    What would be REALLY great is if she could incorporate the new motto into the brochure. That would rock.

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Rix,
    No, you rock, that would be fabulous!

    I think the project is good, they have to include a timeline, a recap of a book about the Holocaust, and a bunch of stuff I can’t recall right now, it’s just the word choice of “brochure” that seems. um, crazy… like it’s an advertisement for a condo or information about the benefits of botox…
    Jennifer

  3. mortonmalaise Says:

    Jen,
    To be fair, they also have brochures in doctors’ offices about colon cancer and AIDS, neither of which are much fun.

  4. Michael Says:

    So is the lesson the Holocaust or “how to” make a brochure? Sounds like our small town school! One of our boys got caught with some Pokemon cards when he was in grade school and it turned into a major catastrophe. I swear had it been a Playboy they would have executed him on the spot!

  5. jenjw4 Says:

    MM, Hmm.. never thought about that. I guess the word “brochure” just brings to mind those stands at hotels of all the local attractions…

    Michael,
    Omg, not Pokemon cards! My son was obsessed with those and I have a whole year’s art notebook of his from 3rd grade in which every drawing is of pokemon characters, pokemon balls and lightning bolts…

    I did ask Reagan more questions about the “brochure” and I think her teacher was trying to be creative by having them do something different than a book report or paper. They have to include a timeline, a book review and facts about the Holocaust. So it’s not a bad project, it was just the wording that I found funny…

  6. postsimian Says:

    Brochures of the Holocaust? Am I the only one who immediately thought of a travel brochure to Auschwitz?

  7. Jennifer Says:

    Reno,
    Bingo, you nailed it! I have the same mental association with the word “brochure….” so, while the parameters of the project are fine, the name, it just skeeves me out!
    Jennifer

  8. HollowSquirrel Says:

    I’m with you all on brochures. That just doesn’t sound right. Your son could make the abstinence stuff on CafePress and sell it to the masses. Please.

  9. postsimian Says:

    Something tells me this brochure would lead to immediate, unconditional expulsion:

    “Come visit lovely AUSCHWITZ recreational facility! Here you can interact with your friends, get matching tattoos and lounge in our special steamed showers! They’re to die for! JEW will LOVE IT!”

    If I believed there was a hell, I’d expect God to foot the bill for expedited shipping.

    Anyway, HollowSquirrel is onto something. Hell, that’s the kind of shirt I might wear to a school board meeting.

  10. Jennifer Says:

    Reno (postsimian I mean!), Oh, gosh, you are funny!

  11. mortonmalaise Says:

    Postsimian,
    Wrong. Wrong on so many levels. But so damn funny.

Leave a Reply

