They’re only in 7th grade!

I just picked up Reagan from Scholastic Bowl. When she got in the car she said “I’m not supposed to tell anyone but you don’t count. ‘John’ is going to kiss ‘Amber’ at the game tomorrow night.”

Me: “Really? How does she know?”

Reagan: “He told her!”

Me: “Wow, is that a threat or a promise?”

7 Responses to “They’re only in 7th grade!”

  1. PeoriaIllinoisan Says:

    Keep the communication lines open… as I’ve been told by a parent of a child in the Dunlap Grade school, there is more than just kissing going on.

  2. Secret Server Says:

    Aww, I’m sure it is more like they are really nervous and awkward, but the pro-comprehensive sex ed side of me says “wow, how mature of them to seek advance consent and wait awhile to think about it, before getting themselves in a spur of the moment situation at the game”. I am a naive weirdo, I know.

  3. mortonmalaise Says:

    Middle school. What a nightmare.

  4. tsheets Says:

    I think that’s the boy / girl equivalent of two boys threatening to meet at the bike rack after school!! 🙂

  5. Rixblix Says:

    I’d like to hear how the conversation between ‘John’ and ‘Amber’ went down…how does one approach a girl and tell her this. And what if ‘Amber’ doesn’t want the smooch??

  6. idonotknowme Says:

    I was in 7th grade in 1985 and I remember lots of people “dating” and “going steady” and stories of various couples that were having sex. Kissing in middle school is not a new phenomenon.

  7. mortonmalaise Says:

    IDK,
    I’m sure that’s very reassuring to Jen. Good work. 🙂

Leave a Reply

