Over the hill.

My kids’ school is very small and they attend K thru high school with all the same kids. This has some advantages, especially for my son, who has a hard time adjusting to new situations and doesn’t like large groups.

For my daughter this is a tremendous hardship; all the boys in her class are either extremely “dorky” or are her friends, rather than romantic interests. She was lamenting this since they have a dance later this month.

Attempting to cheer her up I said “Well, in a way, it’s okay, you should be focusing on your school work, extra-curricular activities, and friends. You’ll have plenty of time later, in college, to date.”

Her response, “But, Mommmmmm, then I’ll be OLD!”

9 Responses to “Over the hill.”

  1. Michael Says:

    Years ago I was told by my eldest he knew I was OLD because I ate plain cereal without sugar on it. He said my wife and I were so old we ate old food … and LIKED it!

  2. jenjw4 Says:

    They are delightful, aren’t they?

    I don’t remember thinking much about my mom’s age, when I was a child. Now that I’m the parent I realize how young she really was.

  3. mortonmalaise Says:

    I’m the same age now that my mom was when she had me. I feel old.

  4. jenjw4 Says:

    MM,
    You shouldn’t feel old. You seem like such a yougen’ to me. And, just think, at least you don’t have to worry about “stale eggs” like some of us!
    Jennifer

  5. mortonmalaise Says:

    Almost 30 is hardly a “youngen”.

  6. Secret Server Says:

    Ummm, Morton Malaise, remember you may be speaking to people who are almost 40 before you make comments like that.

  7. Michael Says:

    Sheesh … at 53 being 30 seems a dim memory! Try it — subtract 23 years from your life and where were you? Funny thing is I don’t feel any different on the inside, but dag-nabit somebody put some miles on the outside!

  8. Jennifer Says:

    Michael,
    I feel the say way! Maybe my blog should be renamed “Just as dorky as when she was 13!”
    Jennifer

  9. mortonmalaise Says:

    SS,
    Oh, I know. Therein lies the humor. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

