And I’m sure tomorrow I will regret having pushed “Publish.”

I’m drinkiing generic Kool-Aid, the red flavor.

Eating generic cool-whip from the container.

I was grumpy at both kids after work today.

I suck at Monopoly.

I have $1.92 in my checking account (after a $2.00 deposit.). Which, sadly, feels like a victory, because it’s better than a negative balance.

The mere existence of my dog is pissing me off.

I’m feeling whine-y and bitchy and put upon.

And guilty about feeling whine-y and bitchy and put upon, when there are people with actual tragedies occurring in their lives….

11 Responses to “And I’m sure tomorrow I will regret having pushed “Publish.””

  1. East Bluff Barbie Says:

    So many know how you feel. Most of my friends are having financial difficulties, family problems and work problems. I just try to find someone to feel happy for so I can live vicariously through them. Cheer up!! The boat you are in right now is far from empty! 🙂

  2. diane vespa Says:

    I remember when I got in this kind of mood as a kid my Dad would say…”I’ll give you something to be sorry about..”. He was always half kidding and half serious.

  3. Maria Says:

    Do you have any vodka? Because with the koolaid and cool whip I bet you could make something tasty. And then some sort of copyright infringement by saying “Oh Yeah!” like the real koolaid man/pitcher does.

    I always hate it when people tell me that money won’t buy happiness or some other crappy platitude. It may not buy happiness, but knowing your rent or mortgage is going to get paid on time certainly reduces stress and depression.

    Hope things look up for you soon. Can you go on strike for the rest of the night for mom/wife things and just go to bed early with a book?

  4. idonotknowme Says:

    It is OK to feel crappy about a day or a time in one’s life because you have to look at things relativeto other days in yourlife. Not all of us have the good fortune to be stuck in a concentration camp for 4 years (just kidding) so that we have perspective about what crappy really is. All we have is comparison to our ownexperience. I understand how you feel in so far as feeling “guilty” about feeling crappy about my life when in some “objective” sense my life is a piece of cake. In this case, the platitude that “it’s all relative” is true. It may not be the worst day in anyone’s life, but it can still be th worst day in your life.

  5. idonotknowme Says:

    Wow, I really screwed up the HTML on that last comment.

  6. jenjw4 Says:

    Thanks everyone. I was wallowing in my melancholy.

    Maria’s right, though, it would have been more fun to wallow in alchohol! Why didn’t that strike me? Instead of my unsophisticated coping skills-indulging in awful food!

  7. mortonmalaise Says:

    Yeah, drinking pretty much fixes everything temporarily. Unfortunately, the next morning, the problems are still there, plus you have a splitting headache, you’re shitting fire and sand spurs, and your mouth tastes like an elf vomited cotton inside it. I know this because that’s exactly how I feel right now.

  8. jenjw4 Says:

    MM,
    Oh, gosh, that sucks. Meanwhile my cool whip/Kool Aid has only left me feeling slightly pudgy and unhealthy!
    Jennifer

  9. keep passing the open windows » Blog Archive » Unintended consequences Says:

    […] passing the open windows Just another The Blog Peoria Project weblog « And I’m sure tomorrow I will regret having pushed “Publish.” […]

  10. jadedgirl Says:

    Ughhhh…yeah, I hear ya honey. Money may be the root of all evil but it sure helps your mood to be able to go shopping.

    And as far as the negative balance? If I have another one of those…even by pure accident, lovely bank closes my account…so I feel ya there too.

    Melancholy is a bitch, and it strikes me about once a week…with or without the crazy pills.

    Hope things get better for ya, soon!
    :o)

  11. jenjw4 Says:

    Jaded,
    I agree about the money thing it might not guarantee hapiness, but it’s a lot less stressful not to have to worry about your bank balance!
    Hmmm… maybe I need some of those “crazy pills” of which you speak….
    Jennifer

Leave a Reply

