Venus and Mars

Friday when I arrived home from work my husband was in the kitchen, wiping off the stove. I started talking about my day, but then he halted me, saying, “I can’t believe you didn’t notice that I had cleaned the counters and the stove top. You should have noticed and thanked me!”

At which point I said “Um, have you ever thanked me for cleaning the stove and counters, because, you know, I do them everyday?”

He admitted, well, no, he had never thanked me for those chores, but then said,

“But that’s the difference between me and you; I NEED you to thank me!”

8 Responses to “Venus and Mars”

  1. Sue Says:

    I think your husband has been reading blogs lately…the ones about men doing housework get more sex! 🙂

  2. Jeep2000 Says:

    That sounds just like an occasional exchange between my husband and I…
    I do appreciate the help, and most of the time notice it, but it’s nice to have my chores acknowledged sometimes, too.

  3. idonotknowme Says:

    Maybe you could have said “Thank you for cleaning the counters and stove TODAY

  4. idonotknowme Says:

    Your husband’s answer gave me a tremendous sense of deja vu. I have read something very much like that in Atlas Shrugged. I think it was one of the main characters, James Taggart, who says something similar.

  5. Jennifer Says:

    Oh, good one.. a lovely, passive aggressive way to imply that I do them every other day. Of course, he might not pick up on the undertone and just be like, Your welcome!

  6. mortonmalaise Says:

    The few times that women have cleaned my apartment for me, I have been very appreciative and shown it with my words and actions. Of course, it takes all day because my place looks like a tornado full of beer cans and laundry hit it.

  7. jenjw4 Says:

    MM,
    I’m glad you show your appreciation because your apartment cleaning sounds like a lot of work!
    Jennifer

  8. mortonmalaise Says:

    Saying it’s a lot of work is like saying the building of Stonehenge took a little bit of heavy lifting.

Leave a Reply

