It’s all a matter of comparison….

Have I ever mentioned that I’m hard to live with? For example, this morning:

Chris: “You look pretty today.”

Me: “Hmmm… so are you saying I didn’t look pretty yesterday?”

Chris: “No, just that you look pretty today.”

Me: “Well, that implies that yesterday I looked like crap.”

Chris: “Why can’t you just say ‘Thanks?'”

(BTW, yesterday I spent the day in halloween pajama bottoms, a ratty t-shirt AND I didn’t comb my hair, or put on any make-up.)

(But, in case you are wondering, I did brush my teeth!)

4 Responses to “It’s all a matter of comparison….”

  1. mortonmalaise Says:

    You females are all batshit crazy. Each and every one of you.

  2. jenjw4 Says:

    MM,
    Okay, I can’t deny that. You are totally right… But, really, what’s with the qualfiers on the compliments?
    What if I said “you sure seem smart, TODAY?”
    Jennifer

  3. idonotknowme Says:

    I wouldn’t classify “today” as a qualifier. If he had said, “you look prettIER today” then you could argue that he was implying you looked less pretty on past days.

  4. jadedgirl Says:

    I have gotten used to taking compliments as they come, because they dont come that often at all. Boyfriend tries…but he is easily preoccupied lately. In the last few years I have decided to just take what I can get with the compliments…so when he says things like: “That’s Hot…” I don’t roll my eyes and make a smart ass comment in response like: “Okay, Paris…”
    I just smile and say…”Thanks baby.”

    I’m trying to be a little more graceful these days…

    TRYING VERY HARD.

    I get ya, though, Jen…I was the same way.

    Hugs!

Leave a Reply

