More like “Housework in the Village”

Last night the kids went to a volleyball tournament. Chris had an evening appointment, so I had the house to myself. Yay!!!!

So what did I do with my time?

Cleaned house and cooked.

What an exciting life I live!

I made Alton Brown’s pizza dough for dinner (for tonight.) I substituted “rapid rise” yeast for the instant and “better for bread” flour for the recipe’s “bread flour (bread machine type.)” I’m really hoping it turns out. Especially since, not possessing a stand mixer, I had to knead the bread by hand. For fifteen minutes.

Then I made myself dinner and finished signing up for our new health insurance plan. Yay! Spending buttloads of money for peace of mind!

Online I noticed that Taylor had left his Myspace page up. In curiousity I clicked on my friend SS’s son’s page, little E. He’s twelve and his page had a political “bumper sticker” on it that said “Bros before Hoes” and pictured Obama next to the word “Bros” and Hillary next to “Hoes.” Little E. is the sweetest boy, so the “hoes” thing cracks me up. I wonder what the pre-teen definition of a ‘hoe” is? (BTW, I always thought it was spelled “ho?”)

Finishing online I folded laundry, unloaded and loaded the dishwasher and was struck with the flaw in my pizza-making plan. No sauce.

I found a recipe online, made it, then ran to pick Taylor up from the school.

Arriving home, I shredded two blocks of cheese with a box grater and unloaded and reloaded the dishwasher, checked on the laundry situation, cleaned up my sauce/dough making mess in the kitchen and unloaded and reloaded the dishwasher yet again.

Folded more laundry.

Are you seeing a pattern here?

It’s not exactly “Sex in the City.”

And, oddly, this is what I would consider a relaxing evening, because, other than three trips out to drop kids off/pick kids up, and one brief trip in to the teeny village grocery store, I was able to stay home AND no one was fighting over the computer, the tv or music.

Sadly, tonight will be much less relaxing. I have to run to the DMV, make the pizzas, take Reagan and a friend to the skating rink, hang out for three hours while they skate and, due to our enbrokedness*, not spend much money.

*Yep, I coined that term myself. It seems somehow more descriptive than “poor” and hopefully will be less permanent!

7 Responses to “More like “Housework in the Village””

  1. Secret Server Says:

    I hope your pizza dough turns out, let us know. Thanks for the heads up about the questionable content of my son’s My Space page. I am glad he is interested in politics/ current events, but do not approve of him calling Clinton a “hoe”.

  2. jenjw4 Says:

    SS,
    What do you think about the spelling?
    J

  3. Secret Server Says:

    Well, I prefer “whore”. For some reason your post made me think of a Soulja Boy type rhyme- (to the tune of that Supeman song)-
    Jennifer’s makin’ pizza do’, Takin children to and fro’, Hillary is not a ho, now supersoak that do’! (Do is pronounced Dough.)

  4. jenjw4 Says:

    SS,
    You are so clever! I like that song but currently am jammin’ more to “Low” by Flo Rida. It has stellar lyrics such as:
    “Them baggy sweat pants
    And the Reeboks with the straps [With the straps]
    She turned around and gave that big booty a smack
    [Ayy]
    She hit the flo [She hit the flo]”

    So a lady in sweatpants, with a big butt and Reebok velco shoes is super sexy? It cracks me up.

  5. katearch1978 Says:

    I was reading this to Boyfriend and I didn’t realize Flo Rida was pronounced ‘Flow Rider’. I was calling him Florida. He set me straight. I am so tragically unhip!

  6. Secret Server Says:

    And what about the “apple bottom jeans (whatever those are) and the boots with fur”? Are those on a different lady or did the stripper change outfits? Also, I always thought the “whole club was smoking that herb”, but now I see that the “whole club was lookin at her”. I guess I am tragically unhip too.

  7. kelly Says:

    Apple bottom jeans are a brand of jeans. It is even funnier when the lyrics are coming out of the mouths of children. And there parents don’t seem to mind because they have it as their ringtone.

Leave a Reply

