First Love

My 14-year-old son, Taylor, has a huge crush on a girl in his class, J. It took me by surprise, before this year he never mentioned girls; he didn’t seem to noticed their existence.

But since this school year started it’s been “J. said this…” “J. did that…”

It’s so cute.
He has a framed picture of her in his room, and about 20 pictures of her on his cell phone, taken at school events. He often sits and flips through them, one by one, just gazing at the lovely J.

And J. is lovely, smart and sweet.
She’s also a cheerleader, head cheerleader, but I won’t hold that against her.

J. has had a few boyfriends this year, including one that’s in high school, a big deal in the 8th grade. But she and Taylor “talk” everyday on AIM and have become good friends.

She is currently “single.”

Tuesday night Taylor announced his intention of asking her to the middle school Valentine’s dance.

Wednesday at school he didn’t do it.

Thursday after school he called, but she wasn’t home.

Thursday night he asked her on AIM.

And

She said YES.

9 Responses to “First Love”

  1. Sue Says:

    Oh that is so sweet! You will have to keep us posted!

  2. HollowSquirrel Says:

    This post gave me the sweats…like I’m SO happy for him, but I was so nervous about what she’d say. I can’t imagine how I’ll do when Jojo is J’s age. Ack. It’s like “DON’T YOU DARE BREAK MY SON’S HEART.” Or is it just me?

  3. idonotknowme Says:

    Good for your son! I never had a date until junior year of high school.

  4. Jennifer Says:

    Yes, it was so nerve wracking, but I didn’t want Tay to know that I was nervous for him.

    I’m happy he has a date, especially since he really likes this girl, but, not so happy that he really likes a girl. He’s still my baby!

  5. katearch1978 Says:

    Yea, Taylor!!

  6. NewsAnchorMom Says:

    What a cute story. I’m glad it turned out well. What would you have said to your son if she said no? Ugh!

  7. jenjw4 Says:

    I know, I think I was more nervous than Taylor was. Now I’m still nervous, hoping everything goes well at the dance.

  8. jadedgirl Says:

    AWESOME!!!! That is SO cute, indeed. I hope he has a great time! :o)

  9. reno Says:

    Cool on him! Haha..

    (I’m still laughing about the “but I won’t hold that against her.” part).

Leave a Reply

