TWBB

My dear friend NHBC and I went to see “There Will be Blood” last weekend.

A serious movie but we both burst out laughing at the same parts. Parts no one else was laughing at.

In one scene, a middle aged, beaten down, achingly lonely man says, quietly, to the main character:

I’m your brother.

The main character, played by Daniel Day Lewis, stares at him intently and makes to no comment. After a pause, the first man says:

“From a another mother.”

For some reason
“I’m your brother.
From a another mother.”
was just hysterical to NHBC and me (but no one else.)

Another part of the movie focused on a young, emphatic and energetic preacher named Eli. (Played by Paul Dano, the older, color-blind brother from “Little Miss Sunshine.”) Eli would give sermons and attempt to heal his parishioners. In attempting to heal one elderly woman he refers to the ghost that is causing her pain. He vehemently proclaims to the “ghost:”

“As long as I have teeth, I will bite you!
As long as I have gums, I will gum you!”

Again, NHBC and I were totally cracking up, while our fellow movie goers were silent.

It makes me wonder if we are really warped or if everyone else was humor challanged. (I mean, REALLY, who would not find “I will gum you!” hysterical?)

12 Responses to “TWBB”

  1. Cory Says:

    I definitely would’ve laughed in both instances. “Brotha from Anotha Motha” is a commonly heard phrase in my group of friends.

  2. mostprepossessing Says:

    My most favorite:
    “I am a false prophet. God is a superstition.”
    Say it like you’re preaching from the pulpit
    “I AM A FALSE PROPHET! GOD IS A SUPERSTITION!”

  3. jenjw4 Says:

    Cory,
    Hi. I actually had to go in and edit this, I had “different” in that quote, but according to MP (and IMBD) it’s “another.” So funny.
    Jennifer

  4. Cory Says:

    Brother from a Different Mother…You’re the whitest chick I know. 😉

  5. jenjw4 Says:

    Cory,
    Yep, totally busted on that one…. other than my brief stint as a chinese waitress…
    Jennifer

  6. Ms. PH Says:

    I would have laughed my ass off!

  7. katearch1978 Says:

    I would have laughed out loud too!

  8. Rixblix Says:

    We had a friend who had some false teeth…we used to say that she was popular with the boys because she gave good gummy. 🙂 (totally gross and inappropriate, but hilarious!)

  9. Cory Says:

    Party girl!

  10. Maria Says:

    I can’t figure out how to email you directly, so I am commenting here. Thanks for coming to see my lil ole blog, and yes, things are a smidgen better. And I love Christopher Moore books too!

  11. loz Says:

    HAHAHA i watched it yesterday and laughed at exactly those parts too….no one else laughed, though it must be said i am in france and watched the film (with french subtitles) with a french person. the whole ‘get out demon’ scene was hilarious. great film btw

  12. 8ac201271c85 Says:

    8ac201271c85…

    8ac201271c8505e681b6…

Leave a Reply

