Senior citizen discount…

Recently my 7th grade daughter mentioned two girls in her class who are going to a movie one night with two boys a grade older.

It took me a minute to realize she meant on a double date. In 7th grade? Maybe I’m old fashioned, out of touch, but that seems a bit young.

I was glad that she told me, and I could tell by her face after the pronouncement that she was gauging my reaction. A perfect opportunity to reiterate my views on the matter. The lecture conversation went something like this:

“Sweetie, it’s natural for kids your age to start liking others in a romantic way, but I really think 7th grade is a bit young to be going on a date. Right now you should be focused on school, your family and friends. You will have plenty of time in the future to go on dates.”

She seemed satisfied with that, but did say “What about in 4th grade? When you let me go on a double date to see ‘Joseph and the Technicolor Dreamcoat’ with Z.?”

That was different, not because they were in 4th grade, not because they were “just friends.” Rather, because their ‘double date’ consisted of Z., Reagan, and his grandparents.

Now, if a boy asks her to the movies and is bringing his Meemaw and Papaw, well, we’ll consider the request. In fact, maybe that should be our new dating rule, not “You can’t date until you’re 16,” but “You can’t date unless two elderly family members chaperone…”

2 Responses to “Senior citizen discount…”

  1. PeoriaIllinoisan Says:

    …and if your date consists of a movie, the two elderly family members will be sitting in the seats directly behind you…

  2. jenjw4 Says:

    Yes, good plan.

    I understand the kids wanting to rush… kids always want to be older, do more mature things, but the parents? I just don’t get it; just because a child wants to do something doesn’t mean they are ready maturity wise….

Leave a Reply

