Safety

Recently I was reading a thread about the mall shootings in Nebraska. The poster was asking if that tragedy has caused you to think twice about going to the mall and if you worry while you are there that something might happen.

I started to write a comment but didn’t post it realizing I sound like an idiot.

I am the least safety conscious person ever.

We don’t lock our house doors, ever. I actually have no idea where a house key might be..

I don’t lock my car doors, either. I even leave it running when I go into our little local grocery store, often with my purse and cell phone on the front passenger’s seat.

When it accompanies me, my purse often sits in a shopping cart, unattended, while I wander farther down the aisle.

I don’t shred anything, just pitch credit card bills/offers right in the trash.

My social security card is in my wallet, right next to my driver’s license and a little paper with all my PIN numbers.

And not only do I do all of the above, but I have a not very anonymous blog in which I write about it….

So, am I an idiot?

I prefer to think of myself as trusting in nature. (Okay, it’s more a combo of trusting and careless.)

Recently, though, I have started to wonder, “Am I doing my kids’ a disservice? Am I setting a poor example?” I want them to like people, to trust people, to be kind and not bitter or suspicious. But I also don’t want them to be victims, as my daughter recently was, when her phone was pick pocketed from her purse during P.E.

We live in a very small town and suffer from safety complacency. Of course, I make my kids buckle up, discourage them from smoking/drinking/drugs, yet, beyond brief reminders of “stranger danger*” during their childhood, I’ve tried so hard to shield them from the evils of the world.

Now I wonder if I’ve done too good of a job, if, like me, they will walk around with rose-tinted glasses, never taking safety precautions that will be necessary at college, living in a larger town, living in an increasingly dangerous** world.

*”Stranger danger” as a message somewhat irks me, as most crimes against children are committed, unfortunately, by people they know.

**I don’t necessarily think the world is more dangerous, just that it may feel so, due to the large amount of publicity “big” cases get and the increasing awareness of the world we have via the internet…

3 Responses to “Safety”

  1. idonotknowme Says:

    It is great that you have been able to live in a community where you can “get away” with your trusting practices and if your kids are going to live in that same community and the community doesn’t change, things will be fine with them and they will have benefited from an idyllic, innocent childhood. However, if your kids are going to move elsewhere, I think you would serve them well by introducing a little more caution into their lives.

  2. jennywo Says:

    Now, all I need to know is your address and your social security number, and I can then get my Chrismas shopping all squared away. Just kidding. 🙂
    I agree with idonotknowme. It is too bad the world is the way it is now, and because crimes are not being committed in big cities anymore, you can have the rug pulled out from under you at any given moment. I remember my family and I spending the night at my uncle’s house when I was a kid–it’s been over 20 years or so now, and I was appalled that they never ever locked their doors. Granted the town they live in is about only 300 people, but still, I couldn’t believe it. I couldn’t have been more than 10 years old at that time, but even then I guess I had it instilled in me to be cautious about things and be careful about how trustful you are. And I still like people, unless they’re bastards.
    Maybe we can all start a community like in “The Village.” ;O)

  3. Cory Says:

    The community in which I live is also considered to be very safe. Last summer, there was an incident of two people in their 20’s walking right into all of the houses around Lake Ossami that looked unattended and taking what they wanted. They were never caught, and people still leave EVERYTHING unlocked. Their cars, doors, sheds, everything. Make of that what you will.

    I grew up in a pretty densely populated area of West Palm Beach, FL, and I learned very early on to lock everything, all the time. I get jittery if I leave my car running while I’m in the Marathon station at Lakeland and N Morton Ave getting cigarettes, even though there’s a huge window through which I can see my car and the whole parking lot.

Leave a Reply

