Yesterday after school, Reagan called me and said:

“Mom, Today at school a girl asked one Taylor’s friends to ask him if he will ‘go with’ her. Taylor said ‘No.’ He said “Her voice makes me want to kill myself.'”

The friend told the girl what Tay said.

Poor girl.

Hasn’t my son learned anything? Couldn’t he have just said “No thank you.”??

I’m hoping this lack of compassion is more indicative of my son’s age (14) than his character.

Edited to add: Last night I spoke to Taylor about this. I asked him, “What if you liked a girl and she said, ‘I don’t like you, your beer belly makes me want to kill myself.'” And he responded, “Oh, I’d just ask someone else out then.” Ugh, I hope my brief lecture on empathy didn’t fall on deaf ears.

Leave a Reply

