Walking through Walmart the other night, I noticed the background music and began a grumpy internal monologue; “Hey, it’s too early for them to be playing Christmas music! How dare they, it’s not even Halloween.”
My mind wandered; I began singing along (*quietly) to the tune. “Just singing in the rain, What a glorious feelin’, I’m happy again.”

Then it struck me. Shit. That’s not a Christmas song. WTF? Am I going nuts? That whole barrage of bitching was for nought…

*Quietly, so as not to appear Cuh-Razy and because I have the worst, the absolute worst singing voice. When SS lived below us (we kept her in the dungeon), I would watch her newborn son and EVERY time I sang to him he would wail.

7 Responses to “”

  1. diane vespa Says:

    The tunes they play in stores are designed to uplift the mood and compel you to spend more. I’m not making that up… learned it in a marketing class at EIU!!

  2. Secret Server Says:

    Maybe the stores play it to keep customers, but they should bar Jennifer from singing it or it will drive people away. Just kidding. Jennifer, isn’t it weird how Big E turned out to be so musically talented? Maybe your singing had some odd musical influence on him. I wonder if he still has that opinon of your singing? The next time you see him you should just start singing to him and see how he reacts.

  3. Chef Kevin Says:

    UGGGH!! Christmas music!!! I work in an enviroment that is going to start pumping that in shortly. We dread it all year long. The problem is “they” (whoever “they” are) only play PC Christmas music which cuts about 60% of all traditional songs out. By the time I work 55-60 hours a week from the week before Thanksgiving to Christmas, I’ve heard the same songs over and over and over and over…I want to crawl up a shelving structure, lunge toward a speaker and repeatedly stab the thing with a sharpened candy cane. How many versions of Rudolph the Red Nosed Reindeer can one endure in a day?

  4. reno Says:

    Heh, every time I sing to my boy he either starts laughing or gets an amused-but-curious look on his face as if to say “what is this man-thing trying to communicate?”

  5. jenjw4 Says:

    Aw, I love all the crazy faces that babies make. Especially the one eye open, one eye closed, forehead scrunched up one.

    My kids never cried when I sang for them, but I think they are as completely tone deaf as their mother.

  6. jenjw4 Says:

    You might think I’m joking about the tone deaf, but I think it’s true. I can whistle or hum a common song, like jingle bells, and it will sound perfect to me, but no one else will be able to identify the tune.

  7. reno Says:

    I get that alot. Unless I’m using a purposefully-joking low pitch. Then, apparently, I’m right on key. Barry White, eat your heart out!

Leave a Reply

