RCD

Last Saturday Reagan and I spent the day in Peoria, babysitting my nieces, shopping and running errands. At the end of the day we stopped at Campus Town and had Chinese food from the quickie super small take out place. Sitting at a table nearby was an early 20’s college student, we’ll nickname RCD (rude college dude). He earned his nickname by speaking (nye, SHOUTING) into one of those walkie talkie cell phones.
RCD: “YOUR DAD SAW HIM PLAY?”
????: (garble garble garbled response)
RCD: “DUDE… YOUR DAD MUST BE LIKE 75 IF HE SAW HIM PLAY”
????: (garble garble garbled response)
RCD: “MY FRAT GAVE ME A NICKNAME THE OTHER DAY”
Me: “LOUD MOUTH?”
(Other patrons, Ha, ha….)
RCD makes eye contact with Reagan and me. Reagan does an exaggerated pointer finger to the mouth “SSSSHHHHHHHHH.”
It was so funny. Reagan was cracking up. I was cracking up. The other patrons were cracking up. RCD seemed unfazed and kept to his conversation for another minute or two, until his food order was called. He grabbed the food, and walking by us asked Reagan “Was that ‘SSSSHHHHHH’ for me?” and she responded “YES!”
Sometimes I love how ballsy, how outgoing, my daughter is, she has this unique quality, of being able to connect and talk to people of any age. And, while, RCD was undoubtedly rude, the whole situation was so good natured, that I was actually glad, I felt like Reagan and I connected with the people around us (united against annoyance?) in a way that doesn’t often happen in our rushing, lack of social connection world.

7 Responses to “RCD”

  1. Cory Says:

    There is absolutely no reason to have the PTT speakerphone turned on in public on those phones. The push-to-talk can be used through the regular phone speaker. That drives me batshit. When NEXTEL’s first came out, I was living in Florida, working at a grocery store. At any given time, I could listen to 3 different husbands talking to their wives on the speakerphone about any number of things about which I had no desire to hear. “GET THE 2% MILK AND SHUT THE #%$^ UP!!!” was a phrase often heard from employees in the back grocery room.

  2. jenjw4 Says:

    Yes, what is it about the walkie talkie feature that makes people talk twice as loud?

  3. Cory Says:

    The same thing that makes people talk more loudly on regular cell phones. They can’t hear themselves. Land lines are set up to echo the voice back into the earpiece. It’s not yet possible to do that with cellular phones because of the way data is transmitted.

  4. jenjw4 Says:

    ah, now I feel silly, I had never noticed that, only the extra loud cell phone voices…
    J

  5. mortonmalaise Says:

    I’m not saying it’s an excuse for everyone to sound like Ken Tarmac, but it is a contributing factor.

  6. Best Folding Chair Says:

    Thanks your article is stunning.
    I will definitely read your diary..
    thank you again

  7. The Gas Grill Says:

    Hi your post is amazing.
    I will definitely read your diary..
    ciao

Leave a Reply

