Well, it all began one night, approximately March 4, 1994, your dad and I had had a little bit too much to drink and….

Watching TV with my 12 year old daughter and a commercial for the DVD of “Knocked Up” plays:

Guy: “A girl can’t get pregnant if she’s on top.”
Other Guy: “Yeah, it’s against the laws of gravity.”

Oh boy.

Me: “Reagan, yes, you can get pregnant if you have sex in any position.”

Reagan: “How do you know?”

Panic fills her eyes, she quickly blurts out “No, NEVERMIND, I don’t want to know!” (Covers ears with hands, hums loudly)

It was funny, but really, that commercial seems a bit irresponsible to me. How many 13, 14, 15 year olds will see that and assume it is true? Yes, I know it’s a commercial for a comedy, not a reputable source of information for sex ed, but I can imagine the conversation now:

Teenage boy: “Chris told me at school, that his cousin saw this show on TV and this guy, I think he was a doctor, he said that you can’t get pregnant if the girl’s on top, it’s like, totally true.”

Teenage girl: “That doesn’t seem right.”

Teenage boy: “But, dude, it’s like, a scientific fact, it’s gravity.”

10 Responses to “Well, it all began one night, approximately March 4, 1994, your dad and I had had a little bit too much to drink and….”

  1. katearch1978 Says:

    That totally reminds me of a conversation we all had at our book club meeting….

  2. Cory Says:

    Did you mean to say 1994?

  3. jenjw4 Says:

    Yes, my head was up my ass on this post. (Okay, at least that’s one way you can’t get pregnant!). First I posted it with the commerical being about having sex standing up. Then I was talking about this (again) with my husband and Reagan and she’s all “No, it’s can’t get pregnant on top, Mom, not standing up” and I heard the commercial again and she was right. So this sucker has been edited 2 times!
    Thanks for noticing the date discrepancy, it would have been a weird(er) topic of discussion between a mom and a 3 year old!

  4. reno Says:

    I think I’ve used this argument before.

  5. Be A Good Son Says:

    Hello your article is delightful.
    I will definitely read your diary..
    bye

  6. NY Tanning Says:

    Hello your comment is funny.
    I will definitely read your site..
    ciao

  7. Train Dolphins Says:

    Hello your article is amazing.
    I will definitely read your diary..
    See ya

  8. Inhaniaintill Says:

    HP Pavilion Desktop
    HP Pavilion Desktop PCs
    Support and advices

  9. cqkgjytmwg Says:

    cqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwg
    cqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwgcqkgjytmwg cqkgjytmwg

  10. How to pick up women Says:

    how to pick up women correctly…

    how to pick up women the right way…

Leave a Reply

