Watching the Today Show this morning and there was a story about a young woman that ALMOST got kicked off an airline for wearing provocative clothing.

How is this even a news story?

She appeared in the outfit. White tank top, turquiose cropped short-sleeved sweater and a short white miniskirt. The skirt was short, very short, so short that when she sat down they had to blur her crotch, ala Basic Instinct.

Her mom appeared with her, as did an attorney. Yes, apparently some Moms are nicer than my mom, who would have said “Uh, I don’t think so, go change.” (At which point I would have changed, stashed my mini in my backpack and changed later, because that’s the kind of teenager I was.) Admittedly, I likely wore skirts as short as her skirt (no comments from you MarySue!) and outfits that were appalling, fashion-wise, but they were never defended by my mother.

Furthermore, if an airline had threatened to kick me off, I think the phrase “I told you so” would have come into play rather than the hiring of an attorney.

(Oh, BTW, they are still debating whether they will sue the airline, because you know, being embarrassed really should be a sueable offense…. Next time I walk out of the restroom with toilet paper stuck to my shoe, I think I’ll sue Charmin.)

4 Responses to “”

  1. Jimi Moore Says:

    I see this as more as a limiting of expression. If said powers don’t like what you’re wearing or how perhaps you look, they won’t offer their service to you.

    Ok fine.

    If this type of behavior becomes acceptable, where is the line drawn? It is a damn slippery slope.

    At Kroger with the ‘wrong’ ethnic item in your cart?
    The music you download isn’t ‘approved’ of?
    The opera you see?

    The whole discussion about how she was dressed is ridiculous. But since someone almost screwed her out of her flight it seems to be worth a little thought.

    Beware Mr. Whiffle, beware.. πŸ˜‰

  2. jenjw4 Says:

    Jimi,
    I actually agree with you. I think she should (within bounds of common decency, such as you couldn’t fly shirtless) be able to wear anything she wants.
    But is it really a news story that one flight attendant overreacted? She didn’t get kicked off the flight. She was embarrassed, period. Which sucks, but when does a slight slight amount to a possible lawsuit? How does that become a news story?
    (Brief aside, I wasn’t offended by what she wore and I’d much rather sit by her on an airplane, then, for example, someone who smells bad).
    Jennifer

  3. Jimi Moore Says:

    Jennifer,

    I think it becomes a news story because our media is obsessed with triviality. Be slighted or embarrassed as such shouldn’t be clogging our court systems. But it does get you Mr. Warhol’s 15 minutes of fame πŸ™‚

  4. diane vespa Says:

    I heard on the news that the plane was delayed because the male passengers weren’t boarding… they were holding back trying to find out what 50 bucks would buy them! (Just kidding!!!!)

Leave a Reply

