How many of my fellow bloggers, lying awake at night, plan the “perfect post?” An interesting topic, word choice, maybe even a pun, only to wake up clueless, with not even the topic in mind?
That has been my recent dilemma.
Not that it has improved, but I’ve decided to write anyway.

We had a great Labor Day weekend. I took the kids (my two, plus a friend, L.) with my friend MarySue and her brood (including long hair, purple hair, and the three nippled vampire) to Great America. The weather was great. The lines weren’t long. The kids only bitched a little bit; Long Hair wanted to crush on L. without his mother observing and one special, anti-social boy “Why did you make me come here? I’d rather even be at School!” had to vent his feelings for a short time. (Aside: Doesn’t it warm your heart when you are spending beaucoup bucks and your child is not only unappreciative, but actively complaining?)

Nevermind the minor grumbling, it was short lived and the trip really was awesome. Roller coasters, water park, more roller coasters. Oh, and oasis food! I had a mall pretzel at 9:17 am while observing women in “wench” wear and men in kilts. (Yes, it was an odd combination, I think there must have been a pirate/scottish themed wedding going on somewhere near Lake Forest)

We left Princeville at 6 am and returned the next morning at 2 am, but it was a good tiredness. It was a dose of fun that I definitely needed.

It does leave me begging the question, though, we were gone, how did my house get to be such a damn mess?

14 Responses to “”

  1. PeoriaIllinoisan Says:

    “How many of my fellow bloggers, lying awake at night, plan the “perfect post?” An interesting topic, word choice, maybe even a pun, only to wake up clueless, with not even the topic in mind?”

    Oh my, that’s my Labor Day weekend in a nutshell. I figured with a three day weekend, I’d have all sorts of time to write a bunch of posts. I had lots of time alright, but I had absolutely nothing to say!

  2. Ms. PH Says:

    I often think of posts right before I go to sleep. For some reason, I don’t remember them until I am driving to work in the morning, after dropping my son off at day care. There is something about that 5 minutes of private time in the morning that jogs my memory. This is the reason you often see posts from me before noon on weekdays.

  3. jenjw4 Says:

    Ms. PH,
    In college, whenever I had a paper to write it seemed I did my best brain storming while driving. I could plan the organization and even mentally “write” sentences with greater ease than when faced with a blank page.
    I don’t get to utilize that much with the blog because I work 3 blocks from home and walk to work.
    J

  4. diane vespa Says:

    It takes me sometimes 2 or 3 days to write a post. Right now I have 3 topics in my “drafts” folder, and every time I open a post to I add to it and edit. As soon as I have an idea I start a draft. I type down all my thoughts no matter how bad it sounds, and then keep revisiting it. Over the next few days it will take shape. Never be in a hurry to post something.. it seems that is when I write my worst posts!

  5. katearch1978 Says:

    I love to hear that I am not the only one that writes and revises and takes forever on a post. I even jot down ideas in my planner as I make my way through the day. If I didn’t do that I’d only post stuff when I’m miffed.

  6. Jeep2000 Says:

    I do contemplate the perfect pun or alliteration off and on throughout the day.

  7. Hall O'Ween Knight Says:

    three nippled vampire, oooh!

  8. vaspers aka steven e. streight Says:

    If you run a business or marketing blog, just think of what you wish your customers and prospects understood about your products. Blog that.

    If you run a personal blog, think about lessons you’ve learned in life, mistakes you hope others will avoid, new scams or problems that you’ve dealt with recently. Blog that.

    If you run a passion blog about a topic or hobby or philosophy, think about what insights you could share that would inspire or enlighten others. Blog that.

    Read. Other. Blogs.

    Quote something from another blog. Endorse or debate it. Start a controversy. Express some radical idea you really believe. Teach how to do something. Share some remarks on a good book, movie, or music band you like.

  9. vaspers aka steven e. streight Says:

    Diane Vespa just revealed the #1 Secret to Great Writing: write.

    Write, jot, pen, scribble, type.

    Blurt it out, then let it simmer like a stew. Don’t worry about the text. Let it gush out of you. Write it silly, stupid, extreme, insane, recklessly…then come back later and fine tune it.

    Write a lot, and read a lot of classic books, Poe, Twain, Proust, Hemingway, Rimbaud, whoever you like.

  10. diane vespa Says:

    But if you have a blogger account, before you publish it, you need to cut and paste your text in to a new post. If you don’t, it will rawfeed to other sites that consolidate blogs, like peoria.com, according to the original draft date. It will then publish far down the list and can be easily overlooked by readers who just read the top 8 or 10. Then delete the original draft. Hope that makes sense!

  11. Ms. PH Says:

    Actually, Diane, you can just go in and change the time and date if you write a post and come back to it later. Before I officially started my blog, I actually wrote about 10 posts (to see if I could sustain it) and cut and pasted them all into blogger the first day. I still have a few of those I haven’t published yet. When I feel like publishing one, I just change the date and time.

  12. diane vespa Says:

    learn something new every day. Thanks for the tip!

  13. PeoriaIllinoisan Says:

    “I actually wrote about 10 posts (to see if I could sustain it) and cut and pasted them all into blogger the first day.”

    Doesn’t that just kinda make you sick.

  14. jenjw4 Says:

    Yes, those prolific writers, sheesh…..

Leave a Reply

