Just call me Ellie Mae

Due to various unfortunate circumstances, we lived several places in the first 5-6 years of my kids’ lives. In my daughter’s mind, though, they have all merged into one experience.
In kindergarten her teacher had them draw a picture to compare and contrast two things. She chose “where she lives now” compared to “where she used to live.” Her “now” picture had a house with a tv and heat. Her “then” picture had a house on wheels, bugs (we once lived in a house that had ants in the spring and wasps in the summer/fall) and no heat (she actually wrote the words “no heat” on the house).
I just about died. I’m sure her teacher thought we moved to Princeville from a bug infested trailer with no electricity.

It was worse, I think, than the time in preschool when her teacher asked “what does your mommy do?” and Reagan responded “She watches Law and Order.”

6 Responses to “Just call me Ellie Mae”

  1. britt Says:

    if ONLY you could get paid for watching “Law & Order”. that’d be sweet

  2. East Bluff Barbie Says:

    When my oldest son was in preschool I just had our youngest son. When the teacher asked about the baby he told her that he eats boobs!

  3. Sue Says:

    My son told his kindergarten teacher he was “hatched” because he didn’t have a father…he did have a Father but he passed away and my son didn’t know how to explain it without people saying how sorry they were. It was just easier for him to explain his loss. The teacher on the other hand thought I was teaching him a version of the birds and the bees…

  4. katearch1978 Says:

    On my mother’s day card from my son he said I was 22 with brown curly hair, blue eyes, and fat. And my favorite thing to do was sit on the computer. At least he told everyone I was 22… 🙂

  5. diane vespa Says:

    I just cringe sometimes when my Kids talk. I’ll never forget the time when my son was just about 4 and we were sitting in a restaurant across from a VERY pregnant woman. He smiled kind of funny at her and I sensed a zinger coming… and of course, they never lower their voice. Mommy, he said, I want to see her naked. Ahhhhgggg!

  6. HollowSquirrel Says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE your daughter. She kills me! My cousin’s son told his teacher his mom “reads magazines.”

Leave a Reply

