Tanny McBoobtown

Last night I went to a party, with my husband.
Social occasions tend to make me nervous.
To make matters worse:
It was at my husband’s boss’s house.
Two dozen people who all know each other, but that I have never met, were scheduled to attend.
We were providing the food: fish tacos, salsa, guacamole, black bean salad, fruit salad and mini oreo cheesecakes.
Talk about a triple whammy.
But it was fine. Better than fine.
I had fun.

Until

Reagan called. She had skidded out on gravel (on her bike) and skinned her hands and knees. She was bleeding and crying.

I felt awful. I felt like I should have been there.
Luckily she is fine, gauze covered, but fine.

7 Responses to “Tanny McBoobtown”

  1. mortonmalaise Says:

    I remember the first time I got a nice gravel skid…I biffed running around on Big Pine Key at Seacamp. Look at it this way, Jen. At least your little one didn’t have to get in the Shark Pool 5 hours after skinning her knee open. Cory did.

  2. jenjw4 Says:

    Did your parents hate you?
    I mean, really, a camp with a shark pool?
    And my kids think the port-a-potties at camp are bad….

  3. reno Says:

    Sounds alot like my wife and I these days, now that we’ve got a 4-week-old to keep us occupied. Whenever we try going out, one of us is always worried about the baby, even though he’s safe at supervised at his grandmother’s house.

    Luckily, I haven’t gotten any calls about gravel skidding. In fact, if I do get a call about gravel skidding I’m going to have some serious questions! 😛

  4. Laura Says:

    Tanny McBoobtown cracks me up. Your humor is quite amazing..

  5. mortonmalaise Says:

    Seacamp is a sort of marine biology camp in the Florida Keys. Kids go, they snorkel, they take classes, they catch sea urchins and learn to do the “stingray shuffle” in the flats so a barb doesn’t get stuck in their leg. Also, they have a large pool of sharks, all non-aggressive species. It was actually one of the coolest things I’ve ever done.

    My mom did laugh, though, when I told her I had to swim with sharks with an open wound.

  6. diane vespa Says:

    How were the fish tacos? That sounds yummy! What kind of fish did you use?

  7. jenjw4 Says:

    Wow, now I want to go to Sea Camp. I only got to go to boring old girl scout camp. Which can be summed up in two words: spiders and latrines.

    Diane, we used mahi mahi, that we used blackened seasoning on. We were going to grill it, but it was too hot to go outside, so we just broiled the pieces. You serve them on corn tortillas (flour are okay, too), with shredded cabbage (instead of lettuce, it’s mild enough and stays crispy), black beans and salsa or guacamole.
    I do think any mild white fish would work. Oh, and some people/places make battered fried fish tacos (they actually have those at The Spotted Cow) but I like the fish better grilled/broiled.

Leave a Reply

