It’s not rocket science.

I spent last week at day camp, teacher assisting a rocket’s class. It was hot, fun, hot, frustrating, fun and hot. My class consisted of thirteen 9-13 year old boys. A lively, interesting bunch.
A few interesting conversations I had:
Me: “Let’s glue these styrofoam cups together for the body of the rockets.”
J: “I don’t know how to make a rocket”
Me: “Right now we are just gluing the cups together, the teacher is going to tell us what to do next.”
J: “But I don’t know how to build a rocket!”
Me: “It’s okay, the teacher will give us directions.”
J: “BUT I DON’T KNOW HOW To BUILD A ROCKET!!”
Me: “Let’s just concentrate on the gluing”
J: “BUT I DON’T KNOW HOW To BUILD A ROCKET!!!”

Repeat approximately 60 times over the next hour.
Once the rocket is complete:
Me: “Your rocket looks very nice, J”
J: (softly) but I don’t know how to build a rocket….

Another recurring theme was the torture and killing of cicadas.
Me: “Please don’t hurt the cicadas”
Kids: “But there are millions of them”
Me: “That doesn’t mean you should torture them”
Kids: “But they are going to die soon anyway”
Me: (almost certainly in my head) “So are you”

2 Responses to “It’s not rocket science.”

  1. britt Says:

    i’m not adverse to killing cicadas (i HATE those things), but maybe if they try convincing them to go away for the rest of the summer.

  2. HollowSquirrel Says:

    Oh you need to post more often…for my own amusement.
    That is all.
    Thank you.

Leave a Reply

