Washington DC trip, part 1

This last fall (Oct 2006) I went with my son’s middle school on a trip to Washington, DC.  It was interesting, exhausting, wonderful and exasperating, all at once.

A few facts: There were 33 seventh and eighth grade students and 12 adults (only two men) on this three night, four day trip to Washington DC, the Naval Aademy in Annapolis, and Baltimore, MD.

The first day began at 1:45 a.m. with a calling tree to make sure everyone was up.  We met at the school (outside in the cold) at 2:30 to meet our charter bus to Chicago Midway; unfortunately our bus driver was an hour late. 

My wait was highlighted by an interesting conversation with one previously unfamiliar 7th grade boy. 

Me:  “I’m hungry; I wish I would have had time for breakfast.”

Boy:  “I didn’t eat.  I didn’t want poop to come out of my butt on the bus; I don’t want to have to go to the bathroom on the bus.”

I can’t imagine what the look on my face must have been at this point.

 

 

Leave a Reply

