TWD: Sugar Topped Molasses Spice Cookies

Thanks to Pamela of Cookies with Boys for picking this cookie recipe.  I loved it!

Alas, my daughter’s friend did not!Halloween 2009 010

Halloween 2009 012

Halloween 2009 011

After the friend’s strong reaction, I got out my camera, grabbed my completely unaware husband and said “Try this cookie!”  He looked at me, looked at the cookie, looked at the camera.  And took a bite.    Halloween 2009 016 Good man.   Either he likes my baking, or its the Magnificent Power of the Ta-Ta’s all over again.  (BTW, if you say “Mysterious Power of the Ta-Ta’s” in front of your teen daughter’s friends, she will be embarrassed and not speak to you for most of the night.)

These cookies are delicious  and quite easy to make.  They’re great alone, but would also make a fabulous ice cream sandwich (maybe filled with cinnamon ice cream?

With the holidays coming up, it’s an excellent time to buy “Baking From My Home to Yours” and bake along with us!

15 Responses to “TWD: Sugar Topped Molasses Spice Cookies”

  1. Beth Says:

    Once again I am reminded that I have to get that cookbook! Molasses cookies are my favorite!

  2. Megan Says:

    I’m going to have to ask my almost-teen daughter about that expression. Sounds like a doozy!

  3. Katrina Says:

    Can’t wait to try these! I made the bundt cake, it’s de-lish, too! Too funny about your daughter’s friend.

  4. Susan Says:

    I love spice/molasses cookies and can’t wait to make these next week. I made the Chestnut cake this week and it was delicious!

  5. juju73 Says:

    Can’t wait to make these…yours look delicious!!!!!

  6. Jeannette Says:

    hahahahaha good man. good man.

    i’m glad you liked em :)

  7. Wendy Says:

    Great pictures and story. Weren’t the cookies good?

  8. Margaret Says:

    We liked them too. If they didn’t more for you!!

  9. pamela Says:

    Thanks for baking the cookies with me. I’m glad you liked them.

  10. Michelle Says:

    I love the pictures of everyone eating them. Im glad they were liked! I am making these soon. I love cookies!

  11. Spike Says:

    teen girls need to learn about the power of the ta tas!

  12. Jeannette Says:

    finally made these… i LOVED them!

  13. Hilary Says:

    Hello!

    My name is Hilary and I’m writing to you on behalf of Domino® Sugar. Everyone knows the holiday season can be a busy time of year, and we’d like to give you a head start on your holiday baking and gift planning by offering you a sweet treat!

    Each week a select group of food bloggers will receive a $20 gift card to use toward purchasing ingredients to make holiday goodies and gifts. All we ask is that you make something fabulous from our website and within a week post about it on your blog. Also, make sure to mention that you received a $20 gift card from us, to help with the expenses, and include a link to Domino Sugar (http://dominosugar.com/giftideas/) in your post!

    To help you out, I have a fun and inexpensive blog post idea for you–host a cookie swap! Invite your friends, swap cookies, take pictures, and tell us what you did to make it special. Short on time? Swap homemade cookie dough instead!

    If you’re interested in participating, send me an e-mail with your full name and mailing address and I’ll be sure to get the gift card to you as soon as possible. I can’t wait to read your post to see how you spent your gift card and what delectable creations you’ve made!

    Thanks!

    Hilary

  14. Maria Says:

    Where are you? No posting in over a month…are you okay?

  15. sweetmelissasundays Says:

    Hi,

    Your turn to pick is coming up….. please let me know what your suggestion is. If you’re not going to participate, please let me know as well so I can set something up.

    Thanks so much!
    Please send an email to:
    sweetmelissasunday(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

