TWD: Cherry Fudge Brownie Torte

Biscuits and Brownie Tort 003

Pretty, no? 

 Okay, literally,no!”  as my dessert got a bit smooshed, which somehow made the lovely cherry sauce look rather like smeary ketchup.  (Or catsup, if you prefer.)

I made this torte with low expectations.  I do not like chocolate covered cherries.   Despite my huge sweet tooth, I just can’t stand them.   Blech.  I was willing to try this recipe, but I really did not think I would enjoy a brownie with dried cherries AND cherry preserves; I was wrong.  This was delicious!  The bottom brownie layer was moist and flavorful and the marscapone cheese mousse was to die for.   Soooo good.   Plus the added pureed cherry preserves on top were a nice contrast to the whiteness of a mousse.  A pretty dessert (non-smooshed) that I plan on making again for the upcoming holidays.   (Along with the sweet potato biscuits, the tartest lemon tart and a lot of hashbrown casserole!  I’m going to start counting down the days until Thanksgiving!)

Counting DOWN the days.  Counting UP the pounds, apparently.  Maybe I should add a salad to that list? 

The recipe is available at April’s site, Short + Rose.   And, yes, it does dirty a lot of bowls and have several steps, but none are difficult.  (Note:  I did sub in red wine for the kirsh so I couldn’t flambé it;  I just let the mixture boil for a bit longer to cook out most of the alcohol.)  Plus, you can make the brownie and the mousse a day ahead of time and only have to assemble the dessert the day it is served.  I highly recommend this, even to fellow cherry + chocolate haters.

8 Responses to “TWD: Cherry Fudge Brownie Torte”

  1. Jeannette Says:

    i think it looks delish ;) heck, i’m sitting here with my plate waiting for you to share :)

  2. Megan Says:

    I didn’t think I was going to like this either – I actually can’t stand chocolate and fruit together.

    But alas, I was wrong – good thing I only made 1/4 of the recipe.

  3. Katrina Says:

    Glad you liked it! I would have liked the chocolate cherry combo, but I would have then been the only one eating the entire thing. So I halved the recipe and left out the fruit and put my own little spin on it.
    The brownie recipe is great!
    Sounds like quite the T-day menu.

  4. Romaine of www.salad-in-a-jar.com Says:

    I don’t like chocolate covered cherries either but I liked this. I think it’s that icky sweet syrup that squirts out when you bite into the candy.

  5. Wendy Says:

    I think it looks yummy! Glad you liked it.

  6. uclala Says:

    Even smooshed, your brownie torte looks yummy! =) I don’t like chocolate covered cherries either and skipped the whole cherry part, but now I’m inspired to try it with cherries if I bake this again!

  7. Vanilla Bean Counter Says:

    I love chocolate and cherries, throw in some walnuts and I’m in heaven. I’ll have to try this.

  8. Margaret Says:

    I have got to make this. Everyone has said how good it is. Even smooshed, ours looks good.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

