TWD: Split Level Pudding

Jennifer and pudding sitting in a tree, K-I-S-S-I-N-G!

This pudding was definitely worthy of mi amor.   And it was easy to make, used ingredients that I had (and usually have) around the house, milk (I used 2% rather than whole), egg yolks, chocolate, vanilla, cornstarch, heavy cream (yes, I usually have a carton for ice cream making), and sugar.

I served the pudding in small punch bowl cups and only made four servings;  one for each member of my family.  October 2009 020

My camera shy one didn’t eat his, though.  

October 2009 003October 2009 005 October 2009 006October 2009 007

And he wouldn’t smile nice for his “Match.com” profile pic, either.

(Just joking.)

Attack of the giant pudding cup:  October 2009 017

 

The chocolate ganache at the bottom was rich, thick and chocolate-y.  I used Dove dark chocolate instead of bittersweet, thinking my kids would find that more appealing.   The vanilla part was smooth and had a really nice texture.  Not too thick or too thin.   I served each one with a dollop of freshly whipped cream and, in my husband’s words “this is the best thing ever!”

This is a great, easy, comforting recipe.  I encourage everyone to visit Garret’s blog, “The Flavor of Vanilla,” for the recipe and his review.

14 Responses to “TWD: Split Level Pudding”

  1. Spike Says:

    Attack of the giant pudding cup! awesome. Glad (almost) everyone liked it

  2. Megan Says:

    I only wish I had a giant cup like that – mmmmmm.

    I liked this too – although really, what’s not to like?

  3. EyePulp Says:

    This looks ridiculously delicious.

  4. Katrina Says:

    I’ll have to make this up sometime. I couldn’t get to it as I’ve been out of town. I made up for last week’s choc tart though.

  5. HollowSquirrel Says:

    oh that looks ridiculous. please report to me immediately to commence cooking.

  6. Teanna Says:

    I loved this one as well! Love those close up pictures, I’m drooling all over again! K I S S I N G!

  7. Margaret Says:

    Looks great. So glad it worked out. nice and velvety sounds perfect.

  8. Susan Says:

    Mmmm. Dove dark chocolate! Great idea. Your puddings look great.

  9. Sarah Says:

    I’m not a pudding fan, so I skipped this week, but I’m glad it was a hit in your house!

  10. Mary Says:

    I hope you are loving your new camera. Good pictures! Good job on the puddings too. Next time, I will fight you for Taylor’s serving.

  11. Jennifer Says:

    This looks delicious! LOve your pics!!!!

  12. Wendy Says:

    Your pudding looks great! Fun times!

  13. Jeannette Says:

    yum yum. your ginormous pudding would have been obliterated by me!! looks TOO good to resist!

  14. breanne q. yeung Says:

    Skillful blog, but it doesn’t actually shown up right in DR-WebSpyder.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

