TWD #31: Banana Bundt Cake

F:  “I don’t want to go for a physical.”

C:  “Sorry, but they need to check your little butt out.”

F:  (horrified) “I thought they didn’t do THAT til you are forty!”

bundt cake pan

Speaking of holes; I love bundt cakes.  They are probably my favorite casual cake to make: they are portable, usually don’t require frosting (which I find I love a little TOO much to be healthy) and I love the moistness. 

(Did I really just say “I love the moistness?”  That sounds soooo wrong.)

The one thing I don’t like about bundt cakes?   Buttering the pan.  Even with a huge amount of buttering, mine always seems to stick.  This time I tried a new method; I buttered the pan, stuck it in the fridge (for the butter to “firm up” and become opaque) and re-buttered it.   The darn cake still stuck!  

Next time I’m going to cheat and use cooking spray and flour.  (I have a theory that the water content in butter evaporates, leaving minute unbuttered parts that allow the cake to stick.)

Anyway, I followed the recipe as written, with one addition.  Mini chocolate chips.  About a cups worth.  My daughter loves a marbled banana bundt cake that I make, so I figured she would welcome the addition of chocolate.  (The linked recipe is really good, very similar to Dorie’s, but with slightly less butter and one more egg, if I’m remembering right.) 

Plus, I made the cake right before her ten day canoe trip (no bathrooms!), so I wanted it to be a special treat for her.

I told the kids the cake was in the oven and my nephew said “What kind of cake did you say?”   “Banana Bundt Cake.”  “Banana BUTT Cake?”   

Thirteen year olds are a laugh riot.

The cake was great with chocolate chips and my daughter did love it.  Now that she’s gone on her trip (pooping in the woods!  Oh, did I say that out-loud?)  I decided to make the cake again, sans chocolate chips but with the “playing around” lemon glaze.  

I had never tried banana with lemon but it was very, very good. 

This cake is a definite winner.  A great way to use up overly ripe bananas and a simple recipe that doesn’t require any special ingredients.  (The first time I used the sour cream, the second time vanilla yogurt and both were equally delicious.)    Its tastiness surpasses the sum of its parts.  

Please take the time to visit Mary, The Food Librarian, to read her blog post and view the recipe.  You won’t be disappointed.

This is where my photo should be.  But I just received an email from my husband:

” disappeared.  I uploaded them and then went to send them and the file vanished.”

So no photos, again, sorry!

8 Responses to “TWD #31: Banana Bundt Cake”

  1. Mary Says:

    Mine stuck too! I just finished it and we will have it for dessert tonight. Than I will take a photo and write my post. No photo again this week from you, huh? This is getting to be a habit! Oh well, at least you have written a post, which I haven’t yet.

  2. Michelle Says:

    This cake was so good! I loved it and Im glad you and your family did as well!

  3. idonotknowme Says:

    LOVE the opening of this post! “speaking of holes” LOL

  4. Michele Says:

    I’m so glad that you enjoyed the cake!!

  5. Wendy Says:

    I like the chocolate chip addition. I’m glad the cake was a success.

  6. uclala Says:

    Hee hee, funny post! Holes, bundts, butts, poop – all in one post!
    So glad both versions of the banana bundt cake turned out well for you and your family! I’d like to try it again with chocolate chips in the mix.

  7. Amy Ruth Says:

    Here’s my tip for the day….(take it or leave it). I know, I know I like moist cakes too. Had the same stupid problem. I decided to leave the cake in the oven for a bit longer. You know the old saying “until the edges pull away from the pan” thing. It could be that if you let it bake a little longer than usual and then after you let it rest for 10 or so minutes invert it and see if it will fall out easier. I don’t know why but it worked for me. Let me know if I’m crazy.
    AmyRuth

  8. Amy Ruth Says:

    Oh yea, 1 more thing. have you ever tried Baker’s Joy? I really hate buttering bundt pans too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

